Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

LV=CC, July 20: As it happened

Recap Sunday’s LV= County Championship action, including an intriguing contest between Yorkshire, Division One title-chasers, and Middlesex.

By Matthew Sherry & Rob Barnett

Follow ECB_Cricket on Twitter 

7.22pm – Here’s a round-up of today’s action:

Division One

Yorkshire are 29 for one in their second innings, 50 ahead of Middlesex at Scarborough. Ryan Sidebottom sensationally took 7-44, limiting Middlesex to 232 all out, of which John Simpson made 110. The White Rose were earlier dismissed for 253.

Division Two

Derbyshire, who today won the toss, are 142 for six in reply to Glamorgan’s 138 at the 3aaa County Ground. The hosts’ Alex Hughes claimed a career-best 4-46.

Kent, boosted by Sam Northeast’s 91, are 351 for seven versus Surrey, who chose to field first, at Guildford.

7.15pm – Yorkshire reach stumps on 29 for one in their second innings, 50 in front of Middlesex at Scarborough. We’ll soon round up all today’s championship scores.

6.38pm – Michael Hogan strikes twice in two balls to bring Glamorgan back into the game. Ben Slater is caught behind and Tom Taylor bowled, leaving Derbyshire two behind on first innings with four wickets left. Gareth Cross averts a hat-trick.

6.16pm – Middlesex are all out for 232, a first-innings deficit of 21, as Steven Finn falls to Rashid. Sidebottom brilliantly returned 7-44.

Durston departs for 50, on-loan James Harris breaking through.

6.11pm – Durston goes to a fifty, having shared a half-century alliance with Slater.

5.59pm – Sidebottom bags a seventh strike, cheaply removing Tim Murtagh.

Sam Billings’ fifty boosts Kent, who are 334 for six.

5.47pm – Simpson is run out for 110, making Middlesex 201 for eight, as Adil Rashid’s strong throw from the cover boundary denies him a second run.

Ben Slater and Wes Durston take Derbyshire to three figures. They could have a first-innings lead by stumps.

5.22pm - Derbyshire have lost Shivnarine Chanderpaul, trapped lbw by Will Owen.

Kent have been undermined by losing two quick wickets. After seeing Jason Roy pin Sam Northeast lbw for 91, Rob Key - having returned following his retirement earlier - has fallen in identical fashion to Zafar Ansari.

And just to complete the set, Middlesex have been dented, too, with Ryan Sidebottom getting rid of Malan for 78 and Ollie Rayner for six.

4.59pm - John Simpson and Dawid Malan's stand has rumbled on past 150 and Middlesex are suddenly right in the ascendancy.

Derbyshire, meanwhile, lose a second wicket when Jim Allenby has Wayne Madsen lbw.

4.06pm – The interval arrives at Guildford where Kent are in a decent position at 236 for four with Northeast unbeaten on 61.

4pm – Stuart Meaker ousts Darren Stevens for 38, halting an alliance of 63 with Northeast.

3.54pm – Simpson follows Malan to a half-century with a six off Rashid, which also heralds a counter-attacking hundred partnership.

3.36pm – Glamorgan are skittled for 138, Alex Hughes making Dean Cosker his fourth wicket. That prompts tea at the 3aaa County Ground. Hughes took a career-best 4-46.

3.29pm – Northeast raises a steady fifty for Kent and Derbyshire’s Footitt bowls Will Owen, leaving Glamorgan nine down.

3.16pm – Mark Footitt snares Wallace for 30, making Glamorgan 130 for seven.

2.55pm – Malan, shelled by Bairstow early in his innings, and John Simpson are rebuilding for Middlesex, taking them to 54 for four.

2.46pm – Glamorgan, who slipped to 50 for five against Derbyshire, are now 102 for five thanks to Goodwin and Wallace.

2.37pm – Matt Dunn bowls Harmison for 48, ending his stand with Northeast on 64.

2.30pm – Two NatWest T20 Blast games are just starting, Notts Outlaws versus Leicestershire Foxes in the North Group and Gloucestershire against Essex Eagles in the South. Follow them here on Twitter.

2.15pm – Ben Harmison and Sam Northeast are going well for Kent, sharing a fifty partnership at 153 for two.

Murray Goodwin and Mark Wallace are digging in for Glamorgan, who are 72 for five.

1.58pm – Yorkshire wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow, having just caught Eoin Morgan, spills Dawid Malan off Jack Brooks. However, Kane Williamson then holds on at third slip to give Ryan Sidebottom the wicket of Paul Stirling and make Middlesex 11 for four.

1.06pm – Lunch is taken at Scarborough with Middlesex teetering at four for two in reply to Yorkshire’s 253.

12.57pm - Tom Taylor continues Derbyshire's fine morning when having Jim Allenby caught behind, while Kent's Brendan Nash has fallen stumped off Gareth Batty.

12.46pm - Yorkshire strike back! Ryan Sidebottom gets the big wicket of Chris Rogers, who feathers behind.

12.31pm - Tim Bresnan is bowled by Finn and Yorkshire ultimately slip to 253 all out.

12.03pm - A third for Palladino, who has Ben Wright taken in the cordon. Yorkshire have lost their first wicket of the morning, Adil Rashid fending a vicious Steven Finn delivery to gully.

11.44am - Palladino has struck again, trapping Will Bragg lbw. Meanwhile, Kent's Daniel Bell-Drummond has departed, too, with Stuart Meaker the man to strike.

11.09am - An early wicket goes down at the 3aaa County Ground as Tony Palladino has Jacques Rudolph caught behind.

10.29am - Some major, and disappointing, news from Surrey away from the games...

10.15am - Hello and welcome to our live coverage of today's LV= County Championship action. Yorkshire will resume on 211 for six versus Middlesex, while Surrey are taking on Kent amid Derbyshire facing Glamorgan.

Buy county tickets

Buy tickets to see county cricket, or become a member of your local county - full details and links

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on