Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Lord's plays host to indoor cricket showpiece

The ECB Indoor National Club Championship Finals take place on Sunday at the MCC Cricket Academy at Lord's and the four teams contain newcomers, previous winners and those hoping to improve on their previous visits to this stage of the competition.

Dearne Cricket Club make their first appearance at Lord's after they won the northern regional final a couple of weeks ago. The South Yorkshire League side won their county competition before going on to beat Stocksfield CC of Northumberland in the county play-off match and then beat Lincolnshire's Cherry Willingham CC and Sandyford CC of Staffordshire at the regional final at Derby to book their trip to London.

West of England Premier League side Bridgwater Cricket Club make their fourth appearance at the indoor national finals but the Somerset side are hoping to go at least one stage further than their previous visits, having lost all three of their national semi-finals. They squeezed through their regional semi-final against Dorset winners Poole Town CC by virtue of losing one less wicket after the scores were tied and then beat Devon's Cornwood CC to make their first trip to Lord's since 2011.

Neyland Cricket Club are hoping to follow in the footsteps of last year’s winners and make it two wins in a row for a Welsh side. Margam CC took home the title in 2013 and the Pembrokeshire side are hoping to repeat this success in their first trip to the national finals. They travelled to Edgbaston for their regional final and knocked out 2010 champions Godmanchester Town CC before beating Bedfordshire side Elstow CC.

The previous winners are Broadstairs Cricket Club, who won this competition in 1998 and have been to Lord’s twice since in 2002 and 2007. The Kent side enjoyed comfortable wins to reach the national finals, beating Wanstead & Snaresbrook CC from Essex in the county play-off by four wickets before heading to Canterbury for the regional final where they dismantled Middlesex champions Hampstead CC by six wickets. They then went on to thrash Hadleigh CC from Suffolk by 71 runs.

The National Finals schedule for Sunday is:

11:00     Semi-final 1 - Dearne CC v Neyland CC
12:45     Semi-final 2 - Bridgwater CC v Broadstairs CC
14:45     Final


Get your free site to help run your club, league or competition on ECB's official network throughout England and Wales

Great resources for your club

A gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face

Facilities and Funding

Lots of info on facilities and investments and club programmes; plus detailed technical specs & guidance on obtaining funding