Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Madsen and Stokes scoop awards

Derbyshire captain Wayne Madsen won the Cricket Writers' Club County Player of the Year, sponsored by William Hill.

Despite his county suffering relegation, Madsen was the second most prolific batsman in the top flight, scoring 1,221 runs at 43.60.

Ben Stokes was named the Cricket Writers' Club Young Cricketer of the Year after helping guide Durham to the LV= County Championship title and ending the year with selection to England's Ashes squad for this winter's series.

Stokes, who follows Joe Root in winning the 64-year-old award, took 42 wickets at 26.57 in the Division One while also adding 615 runs, including a crucial century in the victory over title rivals Yorkshire at Scarborough.

The 22-year-old then made his late push for an Ashes call-up in the one-day international series against Australia, taking career-best figures of 5-61 in the final match at Southampton.

The awards are due to be presented at the Cricket Writers' Club annual lunch at London's Plaisterers' Hall on Monday and are voted for by the full members of the club.

Buy county tickets

Buy tickets to see county cricket, or become a member of your local county - full details and links

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on