Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Moeen scoops PCA award

Moeen Ali was named the 2013 NatWest PCA Player of the Year at last night's awards event at the Roundhouse.

The Worcestershire all-rounder was recognised for his superb form with both bat and ball, compiling more than 2,000 runs and taking 55 wickets across all formats. His 1,375 runs - which included a career-best 250 against Glamorgan - in Division Two saw him finish the LV= County Championship campaign as the highest scorer.

Moeen Ali poses with the Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the YearMoeen was also feared with the ball and his return of 6-77 against promoted Northamptonshire in the final game of the campaign saw him pip Samit Patel to the FTI Most Valuable Player Award.

The 26-year-old's performances have seen him named in the touring England Performance Squad this winter.

Ben Stokes picked up the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year award, having shone in Durham's championship-winning side.

The 22-year-old all-rounder scored more than 1,400 runs with the bat while racking up 72 wickets in all formats. He played a major role in helping his county win their third LV= County Championship title in six years, taking 42 Division One wickets.

Having made his limited-overs debut for England in 2011, he returned to the one-day set-up in September - taking his maiden five-wicket haul in the NatWest Series against Australia - before being named in this winter's Ashes squad.

Former Lancashire chief executive Jim Cumbes was given the ECB special award, while the PCA honoured the late Tony Greig with its merit award.

Ashes winners James Anderson and Graeme Swann were also among the winners at the event hosted by PCA in association with ECB and NatWest.

Full list of winners:


Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA Player of the Year

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)


John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA Young Player of the Year

Ben Stokes (Durham)


ECB Special Award

Jim Cumbes


PCA Special Merit Award, sponsored by Brit Insurance

Tony Greig


Friends Life t20 Player of the Year

David Willey (Northamptonshire)


Yorkshire Bank 40 Player of the Year

Peter Trego (Somerset)


LV= County Championship Player of the Year

Graham Onions (Durham)


England FTI MVP of the Summer

James Anderson


NatWest ODI Player of the Summer

Ravi Bopara


Investec Test Player of the Summer

Graeme Swann


Sky Sports Sixes League Winner

Ryan ten Doeschate (Essex)


FTI Team of the Year

Joe Root (Yorkshire & England)

Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire & England)

Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham & England)

Phil Mustard (Durham)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire & England)

Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire & England)

Michael Hogan (Glamorgan)

James Anderson (Lancashire & England)

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on