Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Morgan fires in Bangladesh

Eoin Morgan’s 71-ball 84 made Gazi Tank Cricketers champions of Bangladesh’s Dhaka Premier Division in the first year that the tournament has carried List A status.

A rapid 84 from Eoin Morgan set Gazi Tank Cricketers on their way to becoming the Dhaka Premier Division champions

The England batsman’s innings, which included nine fours and two sixes, left him man of the match as Gazi Tank today beat Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club by 60 runs to take the title-decider.

Morgan added 101 for the fourth wicket with captain Mahmudullah and fell in the penultimate over before his side posted 295 for seven. Their opponents were dismissed in 45.4 overs.

Morgan, who is likely to feature in the limited-overs internationals with Australia in the new year, has been playing for Gazi Tank since last Wednesday, but this was his first meaningful contribution after scores of 11, 33, 26 and nought.

Another England batsman set to face Australia in January, Ravi Bopara, today hit the competition’s highest score. His run-a-ball 157 not out aided Prime Bank Cricket Club’s 14-run defeat of Mohammedan Sporting Club.

Bopara has contributed with bat and ball for Prime Bank over the last two months in the Dhaka Premier Division.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on