Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Nash lights up dull draw

Watch the highlights from the final day

Brendan Nash's best efforts could not stop Kent’s LV= County Championship clash with Derbyshire ending as a draw.

No play on either the first or third days meant the match at the 3aaa County Ground was always likely to end in stalemate but Rob Key’s men looked to score quickly and keep their slim chances of victory alive.

Nash smashed an unbeaten 95 off 98 balls but there was not even time to let the number four reach his century as Key declared on 235 for six.

Derbyshire, though, were not to be rattled and batted out the final day to finish 106 for no wicket.

Resuming on 10 without loss, Kent pushed the run-rate from the outset.

Key was the first to go, caught behind off Tony Palladino, and it was not long after fellow opener Sam Northeast went the same way to Mark Footitt.

Daniel Bell-Drummond pushed the score to 81 for three with 24 runs in 38 balls before he was clean bowled by Tim Groenewald, allowing Nash to enter the fray.

The experienced left-hander left Derbyshire scratching their heads with an explosive innings, hitting two sixes and seven fours.

Nash was ably supported by Ben Harmison, who made a useful 27 before falling to Groenewald, and Darren Stevens prior to the veteran all-rounder departing to Footitt for 33.

At 195 for five, there was still time for Nash to add a few more to the total alongside Sam Billings but, when the latter was caught behind off Alex Hughes, Key called his men in with a lead of 117.

Kent needed a fast start to maintain any hopes of victory but it was not to be as Derbyshire openers Stephen Moore and Borrington, who hit 73 and 31 not out, played accomplished innings to earn their side a draw.

Buy county tickets

Buy tickets to see county cricket, or become a member of your local county - full details and links

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on