Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

OSCAs shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 11th annual NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) has been announced.

Eight NatWest OSCAs will be presented in front of 400 guests from the recreational game at a prestigious event in the Nursery Pavilion at Lord's on Monday 30th September.

The NatWest OSCAs were established in 2003 to reward cricket's unsung heroes and recognise the efforts of grassroots volunteers from all over the county. The awards form an integral part of both NatWest and the England and Wales Cricket Board's Volunteering Programmes which gives cricket clubs advice on recruiting, educating and rewarding volunteers.

Hundreds of volunteers were nominated through clubs and county cricket boards, and discussed by an esteemed panel of representatives from the ECB, Sport England, the Lawn Tennis Association and NatWest.

Paying tribute to the nominees, Mike Gatting, Managing Director Cricket Partnerships, said: "It is very uplifting to hear the stories of these volunteers who have been nominated for these special Awards. Without them, our game would not be as successful and popular as it is - they really are the unsung heroes of cricket, and the NatWest OSCAs are a great way of rewarding those who make such an impact on the club game."

Martyn Wilson, Senior Sponsorship Manager at NatWest, said: "We're very proud to have supported the NatWest OSCAs since they began, it is such a great way to end the season and recognise the game's volunteers.

“The shortlisted nominees are all worthy recipients who all play an extremely important role in both community cricket as a whole and in their individual clubs. We wish all the shortlisted candidates the very best when the national winners are revealed on Monday."

The awards and nominees are as follows:

Behind the Scenes

Duncan Holden, Middlesex
Chris Moore, Staffordshire
Chloe Pedlow, Norfolk

Building Partnerships

Mike Harriman, Middlesex
Arshad Nawaz, Staffordshire
Azam Riyard, Sussex

Leagues and Boards

Peter Butter, Sussex
Vic Hassell, Cornwall
John Ridout, Dorset

Lifetime Achiever

Jack Greenwood, Yorkshire
Bill Matten, Devon
Mick Waghorn, Sussex

NatWest CricketForce

Nick Allcoat, Nottinghamshire
Rugeley CC, Staffordshire
Mark Slater, Derbyshire

Officiating - Umpires & Scorers

Peter Brown, Berkshire
Sue Drinkwater, Gloucestershire
Roland Kilby, Essex

Young Volunteer

Alex Havers, Norfolk
Edgar Herridge, Somerset
James Lavis, Wiltshire

The Outstanding Contribution to Disability Cricket will be announced at the event

The winners will be announced on and on @ECB_cricket and @NatWest_Cricket on Twitter on Monday 30th during the afternoon.
Join the conversation on twitter at #NatWestOSCAs.