Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

PEPP and Overseas Scholarship Programme announced

The ECB today announced 12 players who will take part in this winter’s Potential England Performance Programme and Overseas Scholarship Programmes.

Glamorgan’s Mike Reed, Gloucestershire’s Craig Miles, Middlesex’s Tom Helm, Somerset’s Craig Overton and Northamptonshire’s Olly Stone have been selected as the PEPP fast bowlers who will undertake intensive strength and conditioning sessions ahead of a trip to South Africa in January.

They will then spend three weeks in Potchefstroom doing concentrated bowling under the guidance of Neil Killeen, Graeme Welch and Glen Chapple.

Meanwhile, Durham’s Scott Borthwick, Surrey’s Rory Burns and Sussex’s Luke Wells will head to Australia after the ECB organised for them to play Grade cricket in Sydney as part of the Overseas Scholarship Programme.

The trio will also have the opportunity to work with experienced Australian cricketers such as Stuart MacGill and have the opportunity to join in with New South Wales State practice sessions.

Finally, Surrey’s Matt Dunn, Durham’s Ryan Buckley and Leicestershire duo Ned Eckersley and James Sykes will travel to Adelaide to attend the Darren Lehmann Cricket Academy.

The trio will be assigned a structured weekly training programme and will be assigned a local club to play Grade cricket.

The selected players will have the opportunity to attend net sessions with England and the EPP squad, during their respective tours of Australia.

Potential EPP Fast Bowlers 

The folloeing players will undertake S&C programme pre-xmas and bowling programme in Potchefstroom in February:

  • Mike Reed – Glamorgan CCC
  • Craig Miles – Gloucestershire CCC
  • Tom Helm – Middlesex CCC
  • Craig Overton – Somerset CCC
  • Olly Stone – Northamptonshire CCC

Scholarships overseas – 

The following players will be playing Grade cricket in Australia this winter, organised by the ECB:

  • Scott Borthwick – Durham CCC
  • Rory Burns – Surrey CCC
  • Luke Wells – Sussex CCC

 The following players will be attending the Darren Lehman Cricket Academy in Adelaide this winter, organised by the ECB:

  • Matt Dunn – Surrey CCC
  • Ned Eckersley – Leicestershire CCC
  • James Sykes – Leicestershire CCC
  • Ryan Buckley – Durham CCC

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on