Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Royal London Club Championship to begin

The club cricket season starts with a bang this weekend as the first round of the Royal London Club Championship (formally known as the National Club Championship) takes place around the country.

Around 120 fixtures are scheduled to take place from Benwell Hill in Northumberland to Falmouth in Cornwall and, weather permitting, everyone will start on their journey in this season’s competition, all hoping to replicate the success of West Indian Cavaliers from Nottinghamshire who won the title in 2013.

The Cavaliers begin their defence of the trophy at home to Leicestershire side Kegworth Town while last season’s runners-up Ealing entertain fellow Middlesex League side Brentham.

The 2012 winners, York, travel to Whitburn from the North East Premier League, who are making their first appearance in the competition in 11 years, and the champions from 2011, Shrewsbury, make the short trip to Penkridge in Staffordshire who make their competition debut.

The 256 teams that start the competition will need to get through seven rounds to make the final, which this season will be taking place at the redeveloped home of Gloucestershire CCC in Bristol on Sunday 14 September.

The best place to find out all the information concerning fixtures and results in the Royal London Club Championship throughout the season is by going to the competition pages on the Play-Cricket website:


Get your free site to help run your club, league or competition on ECB's official network throughout England and Wales

Great resources for your club

A gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face

Facilities and Funding

Lots of info on facilities and investments and club programmes; plus detailed technical specs & guidance on obtaining funding