Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Serial winner Smith heads south

Hampshire have announced the signing of four-time LV= County Championship winner Will Smith from Durham.

The 30-year-old batsman was a part of the victorious Nottinghamshire side in 2005, before playing key roles in Durham’s hat-trick of successes in 2008, 2009 and this year.

Smith, who captained the north-east side to the second of their titles, is targeting more trophies at his new club.

“I’m delighted to sign with Hampshire and really excited by the opportunity to represent a club for whom I have the utmost respect,” he told his new county’s website.

“The Royals possess an immensely gifted squad of cricketers, which I am over the moon to now be a part of and looking forward to the team pursuit of winning some silverware in 2014.”

Manager Giles White added: “We are looking forward to welcoming Will and his family to the club. Alongside his batting and fielding he brings a wealth of experience, having played his part in a number of championship-winning sides.”

Meanwhile, Hampshire have announced that 22-year-old Sean Terry - who hit consecutive championship fifties towards the end of this campaign - has been rewarded with a two-year deal, while wicketkeeper Lewis McManus and seamer Tom Barber have been awarded one-year scholarships.

But all-rounder Hamza Riazuddin has announced his retirement from first-class cricket and will be leaving the Ageas Bowl, along with Adam Rouse, Jack Sheppard, Michael Roberts and Jake George.

“We would like to wish Hamza, Michael, Adam, Jack and Jake well for the future and thank them for all their efforts. They will always be welcome here at the Ageas Bowl,” said White.

Buy county tickets

Buy tickets to see county cricket, or become a member of your local county - full details and links

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, LV= County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on