Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Smith on course to face Pakistan in UAE

Captain Graeme Smith has recovered sufficiently from the recurrence of an ankle injury he suffered while playing for Surrey in May to be named in South Africa’s Test and one-day international squads to face Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

The 32-year-old batsman had surgery on the joint and, although he is not fully fit yet, said at today’s squad announcement: "I'm feeling on track and I feel I will be there on the tour."

Paceman Dale Steyn, who missed much of the Champions Trophy and the limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka due to several niggles - including side strain, groin, glute, neck and ankle problems - will be fit to play and is in both parties.

Likewise Imran Tahir and Robin Peterson, who will provide two frontline spin options, but Test specialist batsman Jacques Rudolph misses out.

Batting all-rounder JP Duminy, who had missed South Africa's previous Test series - a 3-0 home defeat of Pakistan in February - due to the Achilles tendon injury that ruled him out for several months in the first half of the year, returns to the Test group.

Jacques Kallis, who opted out of the Champions Trophy and subsequent limited-overs internationals in Sri Lanka, is in the Test squad only despite confirming his desire to play the 2015 World Cup.

The Twenty20 international squad will be named after the Champions League T20, which ends on October 6. South Africa play two Tests, followed by five ODIs and two T20Is, on the tour that is spread across October and November.

Test squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Francois du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile.

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Francois du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.