Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Taylor takes T20 award

England's Sarah Taylor has won the International Cricket Council’s Women's Twenty20 international cricketer of the year award for the second straight year.

The wicketkeeper-batter is the one England player, male or female, to take a main award announced during the tea interval on the first day of the Perth Ashes Test.

Several England players made the Test team or one-day international team of the year. James Anderson was named in both while Graeme Swann and Alastair Cook are in a Test side captained by the latter.

England wicketkeeper-batter Sarah Taylor was top of the class in Women's Twenty20 internationals for a second straight year

English umpire Richard Kettleborough was top of his class on the elite panel, becoming the first UK umpire to win the award.

Australia captain Michael Clarke, like Cook playing his 100th Test today, won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy as overall player of the year and was named Test player of the year.

Other winners included Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, one-day international cricketer of the year, and India batsman Cheteshwar Pujara as the inaugural emerging player.

Ireland all-rounder Kevin O'Brien claimed the associate and affiliate cricketer of the year award.

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene won his second spirit of cricket award, this time for walking without waiting for an umpire's decision when on 91 against New Zealand at Galle in November 2012.

ICC president Alan Isaac said: "I'd like to congratulate all of the winners announced today, who are all highly deserving of their awards.

“It's been a fantastic year of cricket and I think a special congratulation is needed for Michael Clarke, who claimed two awards this evening, including of course the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC cricketer of the year.”

The full list of winners is:

Cricketer of the year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Michael Clarke (Australia)
Test cricketer of the year - Michael Clarke (Australia)
Women's ODI cricketer of the year - Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
ODI cricketer of the year - Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
Emerging cricketer of the year - Cheteshwar Pujara (India)
Associate and affiliate cricketer of the year - Kevin O'Brien (Ireland)
Twenty20 international performance of the year - Umar Gul (Pakistan)
T20I women's cricketer of the year - Sarah Taylor (England)
Spirit of cricket award - Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
Umpire of the year (David Shepherd Trophy) - Richard Kettleborough
People's choice - Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Test team of the year (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng - captain)
Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind - wicketkeeper)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Dale Steyn (SA)
James Anderson (Eng)
Vernon Philander (SA)
12th Man - Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ODI team of the year (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Shikhar Dhawan (Ind)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Saeed Ajmal (Pak)
Mitchell Starc (Aus)
James Anderson (Eng)
Lasith Malinga (SL)
12th Man - Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on