Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Vithanage and Prasanna named in Sri Lanka squad

Sri Lanka have named Kithuruwan Vithanage and Seekkuge Prasanna in their one-day international and Twenty20 squads to face Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates next month.

Batsman Vithanage – who is yet to play limited-overs cricket for his country - is a replacement for Mahela Jayawardene, who misses the tour due to the imminent birth of his first child, while leg-spinner Prasanna is included at the expense of Ajantha Mendis.

Kithuruwan Vithanage will have the chance to make his ODI debut for Sri Lanka against Pakistan in Mahela Jayawardene's absence

Veteran slow left-armer Rangana Herath is part of the ODI squad but will be rested for the T20 matches, while Ramith Rambukwella’s participation in the shortest format is dependent on him shaking off a knee injury sustained during last week’s victory over New Zealand.

A pair of T20 internationals will be contested at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on December 11 and 13 before the five-match ODI series begins in Sharjah on December 18.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Ashan Priyanjan, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Seekkuge Prasanna.

Sri Lanka Twenty20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Lasith Malinga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Seekkuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Ramith Rambukwella.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on