Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

West Indian Cavaliers crowned 2013 champions

The West Indian Cavaliers clinched their ninth Nottinghamshire Premier League title after Cuckney missed a second chance to secure the 2013 trophy.

In a dramatic end to the season, Cuckney slipped to 60 run defeat at home to Rolls Royce which gave the Cavs the chance they needed to take possession by notching up their 16th win of the season away at Clifton.

The Cavaliers fielded first on winning the toss and were on track for a speedy win when the home side fell to 59 for six but a stand of 136 in 24 overs between Martin Weightman (88) and David Lucas (64) brought respectability into sight and Clifton were finally all out in the 46th over for 218.

Ameer Ahmed grabbed 3-27 with a pair of wickets for Aatif Ali, Usman Afzaal and Akhil Patel. The Cavs also struggled early on but recovered from 22 for three with Afzaal and Bilal Shafayat putting on 110 for the 5th wicket.

Skipper Afzaal saw his side home with an unbeaten 100 with Lucas completing a good day with figures of 3-37.

Cuckney needed just 14 points at the start of the day to secure successive NPL titles but only managed four as they slipped to their second loss of the season to Rolls Royce.

When visitors Rolls were dismissed in the 44th over for 198, Cuckney must have thought they had one hand on the trophy. Adeel Shafique struck his second NPL ton of the season, hitting 103 from 120 balls, with Tom Lungley supporting with 41 and Luke Thomas taking 4-23.

But for the second week running, the Cuckney batting unit did not respond well to a relatively modest target and were skittled for 138 in the penultimate over with Lungley taking 4-28 and Ben Phillips 3-26. This result sees Rolls Royce finish in second and Cuckney third.

Papplewick's 2013 campaign has been frustrating and the final match gave no respite as they succumbed to a double-quick seven wicket loss to the Nottinghamshire Academy at Lady Bay.

In a game that lasted a total of 28 overs, they were dismissed for just 59 with only Kieron McComb (20) and Jim Rhodes (16) making double figures.

Luke Wood starred with the ball, taking the remarkable figures of 7-4-7-6 while Brett Hutton finished with 3-26. The Academy side needed just 68 balls to reach their target and record their eighth win of the season to finish in 4th position.

Kimberley started the day needing one point from their home game against Caythorpe to guarantee themselves Premier League cricket in 2014 and a one wicket win did the job.

Darren Bicknell signed off from competitive cricket with a well-crafted 85 at the top of the Caythorpe order as they posted 238 for six in the first innings.

Matt Dowman contributed 48 and there were a brace of wickets each for Ben Savage, Alex King and Chris Glover. Kimberley’s two Sams, Ogrizovic (54) and Johnson (67) both contributed to the response but it took some lusty blows from Alex King (33 from 17 balls) to see them home with seven balls to spare.

Farnsfield were the side with a hope of overtaking Kimberley and they gave themselves the best chance of avoiding relegation by inflicting their second defeat on Plumtree at Station Lane.

Plumtree posted a slightly below par 198 in their first innings with David Bedingham again impressing with 43 and Sam Storey 30. Graeme White, skippering in Paul Franks’ absence took 4-71 and Dave Loveridge 3-37.

The home batting unit were always on track and got there with more than five overs to spare with Callum McKenzie hitting 51 and White adding 48.

Muhammad Usman led the Plumtree bowlers with figures of 3-50. The result sees Farnsfield finish in eleventh spot and relegated although they will keep a close eye on the outcome of the Mansfield Hosiery Mills disciplinary situation.

The final game saw Welbeck score a winning draw over local rivals Mansfield Hosiery Mills at The Fieldings. Welbeck posted 210 for four in the first innings which was limited to 42 overs due to a late start, with Matt Higgins hitting 105, Adam Burgess 50 and Billy Godleman 39.

The Millers managed to reach 204 for six in their 42 overs with Tom New top-scoring with 69, Gareth Curtis adding 41 and Matt New ending on 38 not out. Rob French led the Welbeck attack with figures of 4-31.


Get your free site to help run your club, league or competition on ECB's official network throughout England and Wales

Great resources for your club

A gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face

Facilities and Funding

Lots of info on facilities and investments and club programmes; plus detailed technical specs & guidance on obtaining funding