Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Women's World T20 squad named

ECB today announced England’s 15-player squad for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20, which gets underway in Bangladesh on 23rd March.

Kent’s Charlotte Edwards will once again captain the side, which includes five changes to the squad that retained the Women’s Ashes in Australia last month. 

Top-order batters Tammy Beaumont (Kent) and Fran Wilson (Somerset) have both been recalled following strong performances for the England Women’s Academy in Sri Lanka at the start of February.

Beaumont, who was part of last summer’s Ashes-winning squad, had an exceptionally good tour, hitting nearly 300 runs at an average of 74.75, including an unbeaten 140 in the final 50-over fixture against an Emerging Sri Lanka Women’s side. Wilson will also be keen to win international honours again after she last played in 2011.

With slow bowling expected to play a major role in the sub-continent, uncapped spin duo Jodie Dibble from Devon and Warwickshire’s Rebecca Grundy have been called into the squad for the first time. They will feature alongside experienced right-arm spinner, Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), who will potentially win her 50th Twenty20 International cap during the tournament.

Commenting on the squad, ECB Head of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “The depth of talent currently available within the England women’s high performance set-up is such that, despite the retirement of Arran Brindle and injuries to fast bowlers Katherine Brunt and Natasha Farrant, the selectors have still been able to pick a balanced squad for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

“We have opted for a mix of proven international performers such as Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor, alongside exciting fresh talents Jodie Dibble and Rebecca Grundy.  

“Both Jodie and Rebecca have developed enormously over the last couple of years and they thoroughly deserve this opportunity. As young spinners, there is no better place in the world to ply your trade than the sub-continent and I hope that they enjoy and learn from the experience.

“We are also delighted to see Tammy Beaumont and Fran Wilson back in the squad.  Their performances during the recent England Women’s Academy tour to Sri Lanka were an important part of the team’s success out there, and I’m sure that they will be aiming to carry this form forward to Bangladesh.

“Lauren Winfield and Danielle Wyatt will, of course, be disappointed not to be included in the squad, having both played in the Women’s Ashes series in Australia last month. They are both high-class players and will remain in the selectors’ thoughts once the domestic season gets underway in April. Laura Marsh will also be aiming to come back strong this summer, as she continues to undergo rehabilitation on her shoulder. 

“It is a very exciting time for the England Women’s cricket team.  The back-to-back Ashes triumphs, in addition to the news last week about the pay increases for the players, put us in a healthy position. I look forward to seeing what this group of players can achieve on the field in Bangladesh.”

England squad for the Women's World Twenty20:

Charlotte Edwards (captain) (Kent)

Tamsin Beaumont (Kent)

Kathryn Cross (Lancashire)

Jodie Dibble (Devon)

Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)

Lydia Greenway (Kent)

Rebecca Grundy (Warwickshire)

Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)

Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)

Amy Jones (Warwickshire)

Heather Knight (Berkshire)

Natalie Sciver (Surrey)

Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)

Sarah Taylor (Sussex)

Frances Wilson (Somerset)

England Women World Twenty20 fixtures:

24/03/14, 10am Vs West Indies Women, Sylhet Divisional Stadium, Sylhet

26/03/14, 2pm – Vs India Women, Sylhet Divisional Stadium, Sylhet

28/03/14, 10am – Vs Bangladesh Women, Sylhet Divisional Stadium, Sylhet

30/03/14, 3pm – Vs Sri Lanka Women, Sylhet Divisional Stadium, Sylhet

03/04/14 or 04/04/14, 11am – Semi-Final, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

06/04/14, 11am – Final, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur

All times are in GMT.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on