Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

World Twenty20 qualifier schedule revealed

Sixteen teams’ opportunity to join world cricket’s elite in the next World Twenty20 will come in 100 days’ time when the qualifying event gets under way.

Beginning on November 15, the 15-day event will take place at seven venues: Dubai International Cricket Stadium and ICC Academy grounds No.1 and No.2 in Dubai, Zayed Cricket Stadium and Abu Dhabi Ovals 1 and 2 in Abu Dhabi and the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

The sides have been split into two groups: A is comprised of previous winner’s Ireland as well as Canada, Hong Kong, Italy, Namibia, Uganda, USA and the hosts United Arab Emirates and B Afghanistan, Bermuda, Denmark, the Netherlands, Nepal, Kenya, Papua New Guinea and Scotland.

The International Cricket Council's global development manager Tim Anderson said: “The time has come once again for important and prestigious event on the ICC calendar in which 16 leading members amongst the Associates and Affiliates will vie for the six available places in the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

“This final qualifier is the last step of a pathway that comprised 11 ICC regional tournaments during 2012 and 2013; this time we will see six teams gain the opportunity to be a part of the global tournament to be held next year.”

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on