Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Zaheer earns India recall

India have recalled Zaheer Khan to their Test squad to face South Africa following a year-long absence for the experienced seamer.

Zaheer last played for India during the home series defeat to England last December and is one of five seamers named in a 17-man touring party.

The two-match series will be India’s first in the longest format since Sachin Tendulkar’s retirement and batsman Ambati Rayudu is the only player in the group without a Test cap, having made his international debut during August’s one-day tour of Zimbabwe.

Seamer Zaheer Khan has been named in India's party for South Africa having last played in Tests against England a year ago

Ravindra Jadeja is back to provide support to frontline spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Pragyan Ojha after sitting out the recent rubber against West Indies with a shoulder injury, while leg-spinner Amit Mishra is omitted from the Test squad.

The tour begins with the first of three one-day internationals on December 5 and Mishra does feature in the squad for those matches alongside seamers Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma, despite the latter enduring a torrid time against Australia last month.

India Test squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Ambati Rayudu, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha.

India ODI squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, LV= County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on