RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Clarke proposed as chairman

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
Giles Clarke

Giles Clarke

The ECB has been informed of the result of the ballot of the 18 first-class counties and MCC for the position of ECB chairman in succession to David Morgan.

In the ballot which was conducted by the Electoral Reform Society, Giles Clarke (chairman of Somerset CCC) received 12 votes and Michael Soper (ECB deputy chairman) six votes. There was one abstention.

As the candidate put forward by the chairmen of the first-class county clubs and the MCC chairman, Clarke's nomination will now go forward to the full membership of ECB (chairmen of first-class counties, chairmen of county boards in non-first-class counties, chairman of MCC and chairman of Minor Counties Cricket Association) for their endorsement.

The endorsement from the full membership is scheduled to be completed on October 10 and Morgan will remain as chairman of the ECB until the election process is complete with the endorsement of a candidate by the full membership.

Following the announcement, Soper has resigned from his position as deputy chairman.

Related Links

County highlights

Jon Lewis promo

Watch highlights from every LV= County Championship match all summer - plus weekly round-ups of the best of the action in Divisions One and Two

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move