RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

EPP quartet take Compton awards

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Ben Stokes

Durham's Ben Stokes is part of a quartet of England Performance Programme squad members to receive the Denis Compton award

Four members of the England Performance Programme squad have received the Denis Compton award for the most promising player at their counties.

Durham’s Ben Stokes, Hampshire’s Danny Briggs, Warwickshire’s Chris Woakes and Yorkshire’s Adam Lyth, who will be based in Australia this month and next with the EPP, were chosen.

Eligibility for the award involves being aged under 23 and not contracted to the ECB.

2010 Denis Compton awards

Derbyshire: Chesney Hughes
Durham: Ben Stokes
Essex: Tom Westley
Glamorgan: James Harris
Gloucestershire: David Payne
Hampshire: Danny Briggs
Kent: Sam Northeast
Lancashire: Simon Kerrigan
Leicestershire: Nathan Buck
Middlesex: Toby Roland-Jones
Northamptonshire: Rob Newton
Nottinghamshire: Alex Hales
Somerset: Jos Buttler
Surrey: Stuart Meaker
Sussex: Ben Brown
Warwickshire: Chris Woakes
Worcestershire: Alexei Kervezee
Yorkshire: Adam Lyth