RSS feeds from

Friends Life t20 news RSS

Amjad in the frame for Spitfires

Friends Life t20

Amjad Khan & Tim Phillips

Amjad Khan runs out Essex's Tim Phillips earlier in a stop-start campaign for the England bowler who is in contention today

Kent Spitfires paceman Amjad Khan is in contention to return for the visit of Hampshire Royals to Canterbury in the Friends Provident t20.

Amjad and James Hockley are called into a 13-man squad with Darren Stevens and James Tredwell on England Lions duty.

Hampshire are still without captain Dimitri Mascarenhas through injury and and Abdul Razzaq, who is with Pakistan. Dominic Cork continues to lead the side following yesterday's victory over Glamorgan.

The two sides have already met once in the South Group stage and Kent will be looking to avenge the five-wicket defeat they suffered against the Royals at the Rose Bowl, back in early June.

Kent squad: Rob Key (captain), Joe Denly, Martin van Jaarsveld, Geraint Jones (wicketkeeper), James Hockley, Alex Blake, Azhar Mahmood, Matt Coles, Ashley Shaw, Malinga Bandara, Simon Cook, Amjad Khan, James Goodman.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams, Michael Lumb, Sean Ervine, Liam Dawson, Nic Pothas (wicketkeeper), Simon Jones, Dominic Cork (captain), James Vince, Danny Briggs, Chris Benham, Chris Wood, Dan Christian, Hamza Riazzudin.

Sussex Sharks will again be without England duo Luke Wright and Michael Yardy, but have named an unchanged 14-man squad for the visit of Middlesex Panthers as the reigning champions look to maintain their impressive run of form.

Sussex are six points clear at the top of the South Group, as they made it nine wins from 12 with their 17-run victory over Essex Eagles at Chelmsford on Tuesday to edge closer to a quarter-final berth.

Another half-century from Matt Prior helped reach a total of 174, and the England player will be keen to reaffirm his credentials once again.

Middlesex are missing the injured Shaun Udal, but the big-hitting Tyron Henderson is in their ranks.

Sussex squad: Ragheb Aga, Will Beer, Joe Gatting, Murray Goodwin (captain), Andy Hodd, Ed Joyce, Chad Keegan, James Kirtley, Robin Martin-Jenkins, Chris Nash, Matt Prior, Ollie Rayner, Dwayne Smith, Yasir Arafat.

Middlesex squad: Neil Dexter (captain), Gareth Berg, Pedro Collins, Josh Davey, Tyron Henderson, Dawid Malan, Tim Murtagh, Scott Newman, Toby Roland-Jones, Ben Scott (wicketkeeper), Owais Shah, Tom Smith, David Warner, Robbie Williams.