RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Lancashire suffer first loss

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Ryan Sidebottom

England's Ryan Sidebottom took 2-31 as Yorkshire fell short of their target of 166

North Division leaders Lancashire were beaten for the first time in this season’s Twenty20 Cup after Leicestershire ran out winners by eight runs at Liverpool.

Setting a moderate target of 147 after winning the toss, the Foxes bowled out their hosts for 138 with one ball to spare, Iain O’Brien taking 5-23.

Stephen Parry and skipper Glen Chapple took two wickets apiece as Leicestershire made 146 for five with the in-form Jim Allenby top-scoring on 69.

Nottinghamshire won their first game in this season’s competition as they comfortably beat Yorkshire at Trent Bridge.

After opting to bat, the hosts lost captain Chris Read for a duck but progressed well from there, fellow opener Ali Brown hitting four sixes in his innings 66 as he fired his side to 110 for one after 11 overs.

Brown and Matthew Wood, who hit 45, soon departed and the Notts innings appeared to stutter, but a steady 32 from Samit Patel allowed the Outlaws to close on 165 for four.

Although opener Andrew Gale hit an impressive 76, the White Rose county fell just short of their target, closing on 154 for eight to give Nottinghamshire an 11-run victory.

In the South Division, Kent’s 182 for four proved just enough to see Hampshire off by eight runs.

The Spitfires racked up their commanding-looking total after winning the toss thanks largely to half-centuries from skipper Rob Key (58) and Darren Stevens (56).

Hampshire made an admirable reply with South African Michael Lumb hitting 59, but they closed on 174 for seven as Kent moved above them in the table.

Leaders Sussex put in a dominant display at Hove to dismiss Surrey for 123 on the way to a comfortable six-wicket victory.

Luke Wright

England's Luke Wright was in the runs again as he hit 31 at the top of Sussex's innings

Robin Martin-Jenkins’ 3-17 and a pair of wickets each for James Kirtley, Michael Yardy and Piyush Chawla ensured that Mark Ramprakash was the only member of Surrey’s batting order to reach 20 runs.

Luke Wright then hit 31 and Murray Goodwin 38 as the Sharks cantered to 125 for four in 16.5 overs.

Middlesex’s dismal run in this year’s competition continued after they were bowled out for 148 by Essex at Chelmsford.

Having opted to bat first, the 2008 champions - without a single win in the tournament this time out - lost two wickets for just eight runs early on and the dismissals continued from there, Danish Kaneria taking 3-21 and Grant Flower and Graham Napier adding two each.

The Panthers managed to oust England’s Ravi Bopara and Alastair Cook during Essex’s reply, but an unbeaten 80 from captain Mark Pettini and 34 from Matt Walker saw them home for an eight-wicket win with an over to spare.

In the Midlands/Wales/West division, struggling Gloucestershire were bowled out for 141 at Bristol before Warwickshire wrapped up a seven-wicket victory.

Having been inserted to bat by their visitors, the Gladiators saw wickets tumble throughout the innings with Rikki Clarke, Ant Botha and Jeetan Patel taking three wickets each, the latter with figures of 3-15 after dismissing the final trio of batsmen.

Jonathan Trott then led the run chase with an unbeaten 73 as the Bears reached their target with 23 balls to spare.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move