Warwickshire fightback in vain

Lv County Championship

Watch free daily video highlights from every LV= County Championship match here on ecb.co.uk this summer

Marcus Trescothick

Somerset captain Marcus Trescothick leads by example with an unbeaten 151 to help his side ease to a 10-wicket victory over Yorkshire

A tremendous reaguard action from Warwickshire’s lower order was not enough to stop Durham from moving to within three points of LV= County Championship Divison One leaders Lancashire with an innings-and-103-run triumph at Edgbaston.

Resuming on 35 for three, still 382 short of making Durham bat again, Warwickshire lost four wickets before lunch as Phil Mustard’s men looked set to ease to victory.

However, Keith Barker led their resistance with a wonderfully-crafted century and he received stoic support from Naqaash Tahir as they added 117 for the eighth wicket.

Barker was dismissed shortly before tea for 101 and, although Tahir made it to a half-century, Ruel Brathwaite picked up two wickets in as many overs to spare Durham’s blushes.

Chris Metters was bowled by the paceman after putting on 55 for the ninth wicket with Tahir, who was the final man out for 53 as Warwickshire were finally dismissed for 313.

Marcus Trescothick blasted his way to 151 off just 131 balls - his second hundred of the match - to inspire Somerset to a 10-wicket win over Yorkshire at Taunton, which moved them joint-third with Warwickshire.

After Yorkshire had set a target of 228, the Somerset captain plundered 21 fours and two sixes, and he was ably supported by the more passive Arul Suppiah, who contributed 67 to their second double-century stand of the game.

Earlier, Yorkshire’s hopes of setting a more competitive total were undermined when Jonathan Bairstow was dismissed off the third ball of the day.

The wicketkeeper-batsman was caught behind off Charl Willoughby without adding to his overnight 80 and, although Adil Rashid contributed a battling unbeaten 51 from 145 deliveries, it was ultimately in vain.

All the Division Two games were drawn, due mainly to the bad weather around this week.

After no play was possible yesterday, there was little prospect of a result between leaders Northamptonshire and Leicestershire at Wantage Road.

Opener Matt Boyce struck 101 and there were unbeaten fifties for James Taylor plus Andrew McDonald as Leicestershire, who held a one-run first-innings lead, extended their day-two 52 without loss to 268 for three declared.

Adam Wheater

Adam Wheater denied Middlesex victory with a rearguard 76 as Essex closed seven down in their second innings at Chelmsford

Glamorgan closed the gap on Northants to three points despite Surrey comfortably avoiding defeat at the Kia Oval.

Opener Gareth Rees’ 126 and 67 not out from Michael Powell, who put on 185 with Rees, allowed the Welsh county to declare their second innings at 259 for four.

Set a notional 395, Jason Roy and Rory Hamilton-Brown put on 150 for the first wicket until the latter fell for 68. Roy was unbeaten on 106 when the sides shook hands at 194 for one.

Third-placed Middlesex came closest to victory as Essex closed on 196 for seven at Chelmsford.

Middlesex declared their second knock on 211 for six thanks to 63 from Chris Rogers and 73 not out from captain Neil Dexter, while David Masters took 4-61.

Three quick wickets for Tim Murtagh and one for Anthony Ireland left Essex, pursuing an improbable 306, on 28 for four.

However, Adam Wheater and skipper James Foster shared a 95-run stand for the sixth wicket. Wheater went for 76 but Foster was unbeaten on 44.

Kent remain bottom despite holding off Derbyshire at Canterbury.

Derbyshire halted their second innings on 256 for four, underpinned by 71 from opener Wayne Madsen, 53 from Dan Redfern and 51 not out from Wes Durston.

Kent, set an unattainable 365, lost Joe Denly with the team on nought, but an unbeaten 59 from opening partner and captain Rob Key steered them to 94 for two.

Click here for exclusive match highlights from every day's play, latest scores, reports, news and interviews during the LV= County Championship campaign