RSS feeds from

LV County Championship news RSS

Wheater and Bailey in line for Hampshire bows

Lancashire CCC

Click here for all the latest news from the domestic cricket scene, including exclusive interviews, team news, match reports and photo galleries

Watch our LV= County Catch Up Season Preview with Giles, Cork and Butcher

Wicketkeeper Adam Wheater and overseas batsman George Bailey are set to make their debuts for Hampshire against Leicestershire at the Ageas Bowl in the opening round of LV= County Championship Division Two games.

Following his winter move from Essex, Wheater has been preferred to fellow gloveman Michael Bates. Australia Twenty20 captain Bailey will be available for much of the first half of the season.

In the bowling ranks, seamers David Balcombe, Chris Wood, James Tomlinson and David Griffiths will battle it out with left-arm spinner Danny Briggs for four slots.

Hampshire squad: Jimmy Adams (captain), George Bailey, Sean Ervine, Liam Dawson, James Vince, Michael Carberry, David Griffiths, Danny Briggs, James Tomlinson, Chris Wood, Adam Wheater, David Balcombe.

Leicestershire, led by Ramnaresh Sarwan, are without a trio of injured seamers in Nathan Buck, Anthony Ireland and Robbie Williams.

Leicestershire squad: Michael Thornely, Niall O'Brien, Greg Smith, Ned Eckersley, Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Josh Cobb, Matthew Boyce, Shiv Thakor, Rob Taylor, Jigar Naik, Matthew Hoggard, Alex Wyatt, Ollie Freckingham.

Northamptonshire overseas seamer Trent Copeland is set to arrive in the UK today, just in time to make his county debut versus Glamorgan at the SWALEC Stadium.

Northants squad: Stephen Peters (captain), Kyle Coetzer, Alex Wakely, David Sales, Rob Newton, Andrew Hall, James Middlebrook, David Murphy, David Willey, Steven Crook, Trent Copeland, Lee Daggett.

Adam Wheater

Adam Wheater, who moved from Essex over the winter, has been preferred to fellow wicketkeeper Michael Bates for Hampshire's game with Leicestershire at the Ageas Bowl

Glamorgan can call on veteran batsman Murray Goodwin, whom they signed from Sussex, and seamer Michael Hogan.

Glamorgan squad: Will Bragg, Ben Wright, Stewart Walters, Marcus North, Murray Goodwin, Jim Allenby, Mark Wallace (captain), Graham Wagg, Dean Cosker, Michael Hogan, Michael Reed, Huw Waters.

Worcestershire will be without young all-rounder Aneesh Kapil for their clash with last season's other relegated side, Lancashire, at Emirates Old Trafford.

"He's not playing the first game," Worcestershire director of cricket Steve Rhodes told "He got a little disc problem, which he picked up in Adelaide over the winter.

"It wasn't quite right when we started our pre-season period. He's had a jab and we're just waiting for the right rehab time. He's about to start bowling, probably in about three or four days' time."

Worcestershire squad: Daryl Mitchell, Matthew Pardoe, Moeen Ali, Thilan Samaraweera, Alexei Kervezee, Neil Pinner, Michael Johnson, Gareth Andrew, Richard Jones, Chris Russell, Alan Richardson, Shaaiq Choudhry.

Lancashire are missing rested England paceman James Anderson but have former international batsmen Simon Katich and Ashwell Prince available.

Lancashire squad: Glen Chapple (captain), Karl Brown, Steven Croft, Gareth Cross, Kyle Hogg, Paul Horton, Simon Katich, Simon Kerrigan, Ashwell Prince, Luke Procter, Tom Smith, Wayne White.

Gloucestershire look set to hand a debut to 18-year-old wicketkeeper Cameron Herring versus Essex at Chelmsford.

Herring, a recent graduate of the club’s academy, has been preferred to fellow glovemen Richard Coughtrie and Gareth Roderick.

Ian Saxelby and Paul Muchall are ruled out by injuries, but Will Gidman is available after recovering from a thigh problem. Jack Taylor is preferred to Ed Young as the spin option.

Gloucestershire squad: Michael Klinger (captain), Chris Dent, Dan Housego, Benny Howell, Hamish Marshall, Alex Gidman, Will Gidman, Cameron Herring, Jack Taylor, James Fuller, David Payne, Liam Norwell.

Essex are without rested England skipper Alastair Cook while Ryan ten Doeschate and Owais Shah are at the Indian Premier League.

Essex squad: James Foster (captain), Tom Westley, Rob Quiney, Ben Foakes, Ravi Bopara, Mark Pettini, Greg Smith, Graham Napier, David Masters, Maurice Chambers, Tymal Mills.

Want to know what's happening at your county? Interested in how your rivals are faring? Look no further than's county-by-county page

County highlights

Jon Lewis promo

Watch highlights from every LV= County Championship match all summer - plus weekly round-ups of the best of the action in Divisions One and Two

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move