Sussex missing Yardy and Wright

Lv County Championship

Monty Panesar & Michael Yardy

Sussex are once again missing skipper Michael Yardy, right, but are set to recall left-arm spinner Monty Panesar, left

Sussex continue to be without skipper Michael Yardy and all-rounder Luke Wright as they return to LV= County Championship action tomorrow against Gloucestershire at Arundel.

Both remain on England duty ahead of the NatWest Series against Bangladesh, meaning Murray Goodwin retains the captaincy as third-placed Sussex take on the side immediately above them.

Goodwin, who has kept the Sharks top of the Friends Provident t20 South Group in Yardy’s absence, is determined to achieve promotion to Division One after Sussex won two one-day competitions last season but were relegated in the championship.

“I really do feel there’s huge desire in this club to get back in the first division,” he told

“We just want to win trophies; it’s as simple as that. We can’t really say one competition is more important than the other.

“It might have looked that way last year when we were in all forms of one-day finals. The four-day game did probably slip a little bit, but it wasn’t set up that way.”

Left-arm spinner Monty Panesar, who has played no part in Sussex’s FP t20 campaign thus far, has been included in a 13-man squad after returning in Saturday’s tour match with the Tigers.

Alex Gidman returns to lead Gloucestershire after taking a break in some of the Gladiators’ FP t20 fixtures.

Spinner Vikram Banerjee has been named in a squad of 13, should Gloucestershire opt to change the all-seam attack that saw off Middlesex at Bristol last week.

Sussex squad: James Anyon, Corey Collymore, Joe Gatting, Murray Goodwin (captain), Lewis Hatchett, Ed Joyce, Robin Martin-Jenkins, Chris Nash, Monty Panesar, Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Ollie Rayner, Michael Thornely, Yasir Arafat.

Gloucestershire squad: Jonathan Batty (wicketkeeper), Kadeer Ali, Chris Dent, Hamish Marshall, Alex Gidman (captain), Chris Taylor, James Franklin, Jon Lewis, Gemaal Hussain, Steve Kirby, Anthony Ireland, Vikram Banerjee, Steve Snell.