RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

MCC announce 2013 YC intake

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

MCC have included eight new names in their Young Cricketers squad for 2013.

Lancashire leg-spinner Mohammad Abid, Middlesex seamer Harry Podmore and Ireland Under-19 paceman Shane Getkate are three of the fresh faces selected by head coach Mark Alleyne.

They are joined by Graham Clark, Zain Shahzad, Afaq Babar, Chris Piesley and Jordan Price, in addition to 10 players invited back for a second or third season.

Mark Alleyne

MCC head coach Mark Alleyne believes he has "a very talented and skilful group of players" at his disposal this year. "I am really excited," he said

Among those returning are three youngsters with famous sporting relatives. Liam Gough and Jamie Hoddle are the respective sons of former England international Darren Gough and ex-England footballer and manager Glenn Hoddle, while Billy Root is the younger brother of England batsman Joe.

The MCC YC’s will compete in the North Division of the ECB’s Second XI competitions in 2013 and Alleyne is delighted with the players at his disposal.

“I am really excited about the 2013 MCC YCs squad - they are a very talented and skilful group of players,” he said.

“The composition of the squad is slightly bowler-heavy, but this presents an excellent opportunity for some of the senior all-rounders in the side to step up and take responsibility with the bat.

“The last couple of seasons have been frustrating results-wise, and whilst success for the YCs scheme isn't always about winning individual matches, it is important to ensure that we are attracting the attention of county coaches with strong performances on the field.

“I want every player in the YCs squad to be out there and challenging for a county contract this summer.”

Recent graduates of the Young Cricketers scheme include West Indies captain Darren Sammy and England Twenty20 batsman Alex Hales.

MCC Young Cricketers squad for 2013: Mohammad Abid (Lancashire), Afaq Babar (Northamptonshire), Graham Clark (Durham), Adam Dobb (Nottinghamshire), Shane Getkate (Ireland), Liam Gough (Northamptonshire), Dan Hampton (Berkshire), Jamie Hoddle (Berkshire), Adam Hose (Isle of Wight), Scott McKechnie (Kent), Chris Piesley (Kent), Harry Podmore (Middlesex), Jamie Porter (Essex), Jordan Price (Gloucestershire), Stuart Poynter (Ireland), Jordan Rollings (Sussex), Billy Root (Yorkshire), Zain Shahzad (Essex).

Related Links

County highlights

Jon Lewis promo

Watch highlights from every LV= County Championship match all summer - plus weekly round-ups of the best of the action in Divisions One and Two

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move