RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Carter claims top PCA prize


Neil Carter

Neil Carter with the Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA player of the year

Warwickshire all-rounder Neil Carter has been voted the NatWest Professional Cricketers’ Association player of the year for 2010, with Yorkshire’s Adam Lyth winning the young player award.

Carter, 35, received his prize tonight at London’s Hurlingham Club having received the votes of his peers following a season in which he hit 617 runs and took 51 wickets to keep his side in LV= County Championship Division One.

He also struck a hundred and two half-centuries as Warwickshire won the Clydesdale Bank 40 and took 16 wickets in the Friends Provident t20.

Lyth, 22, became the first player to reach 1,000 first-class runs this season, including consecutive centuries against Somerset and Hampshire in May.

NatWest managing director of marketing Helen Page said: "This year is our 30th season of supporting cricket and we remain extremely proud to sponsor the PCA awards.

"In 2010 we have focused on developing the sport at a grass-roots level, but we are also excited to be celebrating the triumphs of those who have been successful on a world stage.

"These awards are unanimously supported by the players, who take pride in voting on the main awards, and this year for the first time cricket fans voted for the NatWest ODI player of the year, Eoin Morgan, via our NatWest Facebook page."

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA player of the year
Neil Carter (Warwickshire)

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA young player of the year
Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

ECB Special Award
Johnny Dennis

PCA Special Merit Award, sponsored by Brit Insurance
Peter Walker

The NatWest best one-day team of the last 30 years
Graham Gooch (England)
Adam Gilchrist (wicketkeeper - Australia)
Sir Viv Richards (West Indies)
Sachin Tendulkar (India)
Brian Lara (West Indies)
Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
Andrew Flintoff (England)
Shane Warne (captain - Australia)
Malcolm Marshall (West Indies)
Joel Garner (West Indies)
Glenn McGrath (Australia)

Friends Provident t20 player of the year
Chaminda Vaas (Northamptonshire)

Clydesdale Bank 40 player of the year
Jacques Rudolph (Yorkshire)

LV= County Championship player of the year
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

The adidas 'Impossible is Nothing' award
Josh Mierkalns

Sky Sports sixes league
Ryan ten Doeschate (Essex)

FTI team of the year
James Adams (Hampshire)
Marcus Trescothick (captain - Somerset)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire and England)
James Hildreth (Somerset)
Darren Stevens (Kent)
Steven Davies (wicketkeeper - Surrey and England)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire and England)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire and England)
Neil Carter (Warwickshire)
Alfonso Thomas (Somerset)

FTI England player of the summer
Graeme Swann

NatWest ODI player of the year
Eoin Morgan