RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Trescothick is PCA player of the year

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Vikram Solanki, Marcus Trescothick & Dominic Warne

PCA player of the year Marcus Trescothick, with the Reg Hayter Cup, alongside PCA chairman Vikram Solanki, left, and RBS' Dominic Warne

Marcus Trescothick was crowned NatWest Professional Cricketers' Association player of the year for 2011 and Alex Hales was named NatWest PCA young player of the year at this evening’s awards ceremony.

Somerset opening batsman Trescothick had another outstanding season, leading his side to the Clydesdale Bank 40 and Friends Life t20 finals.

In accumulating 2,518 runs in all cricket, he finished as the leading run-scorer in the domestic game, despite missing almost the last month of the season through injury.

Trescothick scored two double centuries and four hundreds in the LV= County Championship, plus a ton in each of the the Clydesdale Bank 40 and Friends Life t20.

After winning this award in 2000 and in 2009, Trescothick becomes only the second player in the PCA's history to win the Reg Hayter Cup three times, joining the great Sir Richard Hadlee.

Nottinghamshire's opening batsman Hales scored 1,000 runs in the championship for the first time in 2011 and also demonstrated his all-round game by hitting 544 runs at a strike-rate of 147 in the FLt20.

He made 1,833 runs in all cricket, was awarded his county cap during the season and earned an England call-up in the NatWest International T20 versus India.

RBS senior marketing manager, sponsorship marketing UK retail, Dominic Warne said: "On behalf of everyone at NatWest I would like to congratulate all of tonight's winners.

“We have been supporting cricket for more than 30 years and our sponsorship of the PCA Awards is part of our ongoing commitment to the game.

“This year has seen us launch the NatWest Cricket Club to raise awareness of the challenges facing cricket at grassroots level and to galvanise support, in order to address these issues locally and reward participation.

"Supporting the PCA Awards enables us to celebrate sporting excellence in what is an exciting and successful time to be involved in English cricket."

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Reg Hayter Cup for the NatWest PCA player of the year
Marcus Trescothick (Somerset)

John Arlott Cup for the NatWest PCA young player of the year
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

ECB Special Award
Patrick Eagar

PCA Special Merit Award, sponsored by Brit Insurance
Jack Bannister

Sky Sports sixes league
Darren Stevens (Kent)

NatWest ODI player of the year
Stuart Broad

England FTI MVP of the summer
Alastair Cook

LV= County Championship player of the decade
Mark Ramprakash

Friends Life t20 player of the year
Andrew McDonald (Leicestershire)

Clydesdale Bank 40 player of the year
Chris Nash (Sussex)

FTI team of the year
Alastair Cook (Essex & England)
Marcus Trescothick (Somerset)
Chris Nash (Sussex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire & England)
Darren Stevens (Kent)
Steven Davies (Surrey)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire & England)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire & England)
James Anderson (Lancashire & England)
David Masters (Essex)
Monty Panesar (Sussex)

PCA umpire of the year
Michael Gough

Over the years, the staging of the NatWest PCA Awards has raised significant funds for the PCA Benevolent Fund. The fund is part of the PCA's commitment to helping current and former players and their dependants in times of hardship, upheaval or to readjust to the world beyond the game.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move