RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Styris recognised for rapid ton

Sussex CCC

Click here for all the latest news from the domestic cricket scene, including exclusive interviews, team news, match reports and photo galleries

Scott Styris’ 37-ball century in Sussex’s Friends Life t20 quarter-final victory over Gloucestershire has earned the New Zealander the 2012 Walter Lawrence Trophy.

The 37-year-old smashed nine sixes and five fours in the engines, racing from 50 to 100 in just 13 balls.

Styris wins £5,000 as well as the trophy - awarded to the fastest century made in any English domestic competition or one-day international, t20 international or Test match played in England - and becomes the first Sussex player to collect the honour since Martin Speight in 1992.

“I am absolutely delighted to have won the Walter Lawrence Trophy this year,” said Styris.

Scott Styris

Scott Styris has won the Walter Lawrence Trophy after belting a 37-ball century in Sussex's t20 win over Gloucestershire

“I was told by the Sussex boys that it is something that players cherish and everybody tries to win each season. A 37-ball century was far beyond anything I expected.

“I have had a look at some of the other guys who have won it; players like Ian Botham and Viv Richards and, from a New Zealand perspective, Chris Cairns and Ken Rutherford, who are all good strikers of the ball, so I am very pleased to have my name on the Trophy.”

This year's Walter Lawrence MCC Universities Award was awarded to Oxford MCCU's Freddie Coleman after the 20-year-old Scot scored 141 against Durham MCCU at The Racecourse on April 28, hitting 14 fours and 1 six in his innings off 275 balls.
Coleman is the first Oxford player to win the Award, which is for the highest scorer in an innings played against one of the other five MCCUs or against one of the first-class counties, and the seventh recipient since its inception.

Charlotte Horton was named the inaugural winner of the Walter Lawrence Women's Award launched this season by the trustees of the Walter Lawrence Trophy, supported by Veuve Clicquot.

The 26-year-old opener scored an unbeaten 177 to earn the accolade, awarded to the batsman who makes the highest individual score in a season from the ECB Women's County Championship, the ECB Women's County T20 Cup and all England Women's matches played on home soil.

James Halson is the second winner of the Walter Lawrence Schools Award, introduced last season for the highest score by a school batsman against MCC, who play over 280 schools in their busy season of out-matches.

James scored 132, including 12 fours and 6 sixes, for Reading Blue Coat School who, chasing an MCC total of 275, fell just short by 38 runs. James, who plays for the Hampshire Academy side, wins £250 and will receive a special medallion at the traditional end-of-season Walter Lawrence Trophy presentation dinner in The Long Room at Lord’s.

Want to know what's happening at your county? Interested in how your rivals are faring? Look no further than's county-by-county page

County highlights

Jon Lewis promo

Watch highlights from every LV= County Championship match all summer - plus weekly round-ups of the best of the action in Divisions One and Two

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move