RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Trio vie for player of the year prize

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

James Hildreth

James Hildreth topped the first-class batting averages this year and scored more than 2,500 runs in all competitions

Jimmy Adams, Neil Carter and James Hildreth will contest the player of the year honour at the NatWest Professional Cricketers’ Association awards this week.

The trio have been nominated for the prestigious award, the winner of which is decided by their peers.

Hampshire opener Adams has enjoyed a sensational summer with the bat, scoring 1,351 runs at 48.25 in the LV= County Championship.

No-one bettered his tally of 668 runs in the Friends Provident t20, which included two centuries as Hampshire were crowned champions in a thrilling final at the Rose Bowl in August.

Carter, who was this week crowned the FTI MVP, has excelled with ball and bat, taking 51 wickets and scoring 617 runs to help Warwickshire avoid relegation in the championship.

The 35-year-old, who returns to his native South Africa for the winter after Thursday's awards ceremony at the Hurlingham Club in London, also played a key role in Warwickshire’s Clydesdale Bank 40 success, with 422 runs at a strike-rate of 124.

That Somerset went so close to glory on three fronts owed much to the magnificent form of Hildreth, who topped the first-class averages with 1,440 runs at 65.45, including a staggering seven hundreds.

The 26-year-old averaged 69.66 during Somerset’s march to the CB40 final, and finished the season with 2,526 runs in all forms of the game.

Recent winners include Hildreth’s captain, Marcus Trescothick (2009), Mark Ramprakash (2006) and Andrew Flintoff (2004 and 2005).

Yorkshire opener Adam Lyth, the first batsman to pass 1,000 first-class runs this summer, team-mate Adil Rashid and Warwickshire all-rounder Chris Woakes are in the running for the young player of the Year award, won last season by Leicestershire’s James Taylor and by Rashid himself in 2007.

The NatWest ODI player of the year prize will go to Stuart Broad, Eoin Morgan or Graeme Swann, while awards will also be handed out to the best player in each of the domestic competitions.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move