RSS feeds from

Domestic news RSS

Warner becomes Cricket Writers' Club president

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Click here for all the latest news from the domestic cricket scene, including exclusive interviews, team news, match reports and photo galleries

Sports journalist David Warner, who has reported on Yorkshire games since 1975, was installed as president of The Cricket Writers' Club at their annual general meeting at Lord's today.

Warner succeeds distinguished cricket writer and broadcaster Christopher Martin-Jenkins, whose memorial service is due to be held at St Paul's Cathedral tomorrow.

Warner said: "I was absolutely speechless when Cricket Writers' Club chairman Pat Gibson contacted me a couple of weeks ago and asked if I would accept an invitation to become president.

"It is the greatest honour imaginable in cricket journalism and for it to go to someone whose career has been mainly involved in covering county cricket is a strong indication of the high regard of the CWC for the game at this level.

"My predecessors in this post have all been men well established on the Test scene and with an international reputation. I think it speaks well of Yorkshire CCC in particular and county cricket in general that I have been invited to fill the role and to follow Christopher Martin-Jenkins is indeed a privilege.

David Byas & Yorkshire

"The highlight must be the team winning the championship under David Byas (pictured, centre) in 2001 after a gap of 33 years," the sports journalist David Warner said of his time reporting on Yorkshire games

"Provincial newspapers play a significant part in keeping county cricket to the fore and I am extremely grateful for the opportunities I was given to report extensively on Yorkshire cricket."

Yorkshire chairman Colin Graves said: "This is a fantastic honour for Yorkshire cricket and in particular David.

“David, or as he is affectionately known 'Plum’, has been part of the fabric of the club for nearly 40 years and during that time has been a tremendous servant. His passion, enthusiasm and knowledge of the game is second to none and I would like to personally wish him every success in his role as president.

"Knowing ‘Plum’, he will be a great asset to the Cricket Writers' Club. He will go about his term in office with the highest of integrity and enthusiasm - just like every task he carries out as one of the game’s esteemed writers."

Warner reported on Yorkshire matches home and away for 33 years for the Bradford Telegraph & Argus, York’s The Press, and the Darlington-based Northern Echo. He still covers all home games for the Press Association and is the Yorkshire correspondent for the Wisden Cricketers' Almanack in addition to editing the Yorkshire CCC yearbook.

The Cricket Writers' Club was formed in 1948 and its first chairman was E.W. Swanton, followed by The Yorkshire Post's celebrated cricket writer Jim Kilburn in 1950, and again in 1968.

Alan Gibson became the CWC's first president in 1982 and he was succeeded by Tony Lewis, Michael Melford, John Woodcock - the doyen of cricket writers - Derek Hodgson, Robin Marlar and Christopher Martin-Jenkins.

"Covering Yorkshire cricket for almost 40 years has been a fantastic experience with numerous moments I will never forget," said Warner.

"The highlight must be the team winning the championship under David Byas in 2001 after a gap of 33 years, but the Benson & Hedges Cup triumph in 1987 when Phil Carrick was captain is also high up the list.

"What means even more to me, however, is the camaraderie I have enjoyed in press boxes around the country and the close friendships I have formed with colleagues and cricketers alike."

Want to know what's happening at your county? Interested in how your rivals are faring? Look no further than's county-by-county page