RSS feeds from

England in Australia 2010-11 news RSS

A home away from home

Australia Follow Us

Shane Warne Glenn McGrath

Signing off - Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne shake hands on another job well done, this time a ten-wicket win in 2006

England's tally of 21 Test wins in Sydney is their highest at any venue in Australia.

Always spurred on by huge support who have travelled from the other side of the world, England often save their best performances for the SCG.

However, quite often the final Test has been a dead rubber with Australia having already sealed the Ashes.

In total there have been 53 Ashes Tests played at this historic venue dating back to 1882 with the hosts tasting victory 25 times while seven matches have ended in draws.

There were tears when the two teams last met in Sydney. Australia cruised to a ten-wicket win, celebrated a 5-0 whitewash then said farewell to three legends - Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Justin Langer.

It was the first time since the 1920/1 Ashes that one side had won every Test.

England supporters will have better memories of the 2003 encounter which Nasser Hussain's team won by 225 runs.

Trailing 4-0 and with only pride at stake, England made 362 in the first innings with Mark Butcher's 124 the highlight. Australia's reply was all about Steve Waugh who, battling the critics and some poor form, reached a stunning century on the final ball of the second day. Waugh's home ground rose as one to salute their hero.

Adam Gilchrist then smashed a ton as just one run separated the sides at the halfway stage.

Michael Vaughan

Michael Vaughan sweeps during his century at the SCG in 2003 which helped England record their only Test win all tour

Michael Vaughan, then the world's best batsman, responded with 183, his third century of the tour, as Australia were set a record 452 to win.

They did not come close as Andy Caddick took 7-94 to complete a ten-wicket haul which gave England something to finally smile about.

Four years earlier England lost by 98 runs in a Test they should have won. Chasing 287 to level the series at 2-2, England looked comfortable as Hussain and Mark Ramprakash took the score to 110 for two only for Stuart MacGill to leave the tourists in a spin with 7-50.

England dominated the 1995 Test which became famous for Mike Atherton declaring with Graeme Hick unbeaten on 98 as the skipper pushed for a Test victory.

Atherton's decision meant England had a day and a session to bowl out the hosts but it was not to be as a spirited eighth-wicket stand between Warne and Tim May that lasted 77 minutes denied the tourists.

England-Australia Sydney records

England wins: 21
Australia wins: 25
Draws: 7
England - highest total: 636; lowest total: 45
Australia - highest total: 659 for eight; lowest total: 42
1882: Australia won by five wickets
1882: Australia won by six wickets
1883: England won by 69 runs
1883: Australia won by four wickets
1885: Australia won by six runs
1885: Australia won by eight wickets
1887: England won by 13 runs
1887: England won by 71 runs
1888: England won by 126 runs
1892: Australia won by 72 runs
1894: England won by 10 runs
1895: Australia won by an innings and 147 runs
1897: England won by nine wickets
1898: Australia won by six wickets
1901: England won by an innings and 124 runs
1902: Australia won by seven wickets
1903: England won by five wickets
1904: England won 157 runs
1907: Australia won by two wickets
1908: Australia won by 49 runs
1911: Australia won by 146 runs
1912: England won by 70 runs
1920: Australia won by 377 runs
1921: Australia won by nine wickets
1924: Australia won by 193 runs
1925: Australia won by 307 runs
1928: England won by eight wickets
1932: England won by 10 wickets
1933: England won by eight wickets
1936: England won by an innings and 22 runs
1946: Australia won by an innings and 33 runs
1947: Australia won by five wickets
1951: Australia won by an innings and 13 runs
1954: England won by 38 runs
1955: Draw
1959: Draw
1963: Australia won by eight wickets
1963: Draw
1966: England won by an innings and 93 runs
1971: England won by 299 runs
1971: England won by 62 runs
1975: Australia won by 171 runs
1979: England won by 93 runs
1979: England won by nine wickets
1980: Australia won by six wickets
1983: Draw
1987: Australia won by 55 runs
1988: Draw
1991: Draw
1995: Draw
1999: Australia won by 98 runs
2003: England won by 225 runs
2007: Australia won by 10 wickets

Steve Waugh

One of the great Ashes moments - Steve Waugh celebrates his century at Sydney in 2003

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move