Veteran trio make way for India

India England

Keep up to date with England's Test Series against India with our in-depth day-by-day reports plus all the reaction

India have responded to the seven-wicket loss at Eden Gardens by making three changes to their squad for the fourth and final Test against England at Nagpur.

Having won the opening encounter convincingly by nine wickets, the hosts have been thoroughly outplayed in the ensuing two.

Zaheer Khan

Zaheer Khan is one of three high-profile omissions from India's squad for the crucial fourth and final Test against England at Nagpur

The upshot is England now need to avoid defeat next week to secure a series success in India for the first time since 1985.

That possibility has, unsurprisingly, prompted India’s selectors to make alterations, with Yuvraj and Harbhajan Singh dropping out alongside veteran left-arm seamer Zaheer Khan.

Batting all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and seamer Parvinder Awana have come into the fold.

India have also named their squad for the two-match Twenty20 series, with Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan unavailable for unstated reasons.

India squad for fourth Test: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Piyush Chawla, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajinkya Rahane, Parvinder Awana, Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja.

India squad for two-match Twenty20 series: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Parvinder Awana.