Bravo cleared over Yardy catch

Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo

West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been cleared of breaching the International Cricket Council code of conduct following the dismissal of England’s Michael Yardy in the ICC Champions Trophy match in Ahmedabad.

Bravo was charged with failing to ‘conduct play within the spirit of the game’ after television replays suggested the ball did not appear to carry to Bravo when Yardy was dismissed off the bowling of Marlon Samuels.

The charge was laid by the four umpires on duty - on-field officials Simon Taufel and Daryl Harper, third umpire Aleem Dar and fourth umpire Amish Saheba.

ICC match refereee Mike Procter, who conducted the hearing in Ahmedabad on Sunday, said: “Television replays appeared to show the ball bounced but Dwayne thought he had taken the catch cleanly.

“From my experience as a player I know that can happen, but we needed to ask the question to make sure it was a genuine mistake by the player.

“For that reason the umpires were right to lay the charge but, after we all talked it through, I had no reason to disbelieve Dwayne’s version of events.”

The hearing was attended by Procter, Bravo, the four umpires, West Indies team manager Tony Howard and captain Brian Lara.

England won the match by three wickets but had no chance of reaching the semi-finals, while West Indies had already qualified for the last four.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move