England land tricky draw

Paul Collingwood

Paul Collingwood is set to lead England in the ICC Champions Trophy 2008 © Getty Images

England have been drawn to play South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka in the group stage of this year’s ICC Champions Trophy.

Paul Collingwood’s one-day side have been placed in Group B, with holders Australia, India, West Indies and hosts Pakistan in Group A.

The groupings were finalised on the basis of teams’ rankings in the LG ICC ODI Championship table as of March 12, which was the cut-off date for the determination of the seedings.

The two top teams in each group after the round-robin format is complete will progress to the semi-finals.

ICC Champions Trophy Draw (seedings in brackets):

Group A: Australia (1), India (4), Pakistan (5), West Indies (8)

Group B: South Africa (2), New Zealand (3), Sri Lanka (6), England (7)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move