Flintoff unlikely to bowl quota

Duncan Fletcher & Andrew Flintoff

Duncan Fletcher does not expect Andrew Flintoff to bowl at full strength © Getty Images

Andrew Flintoff will not bowl in his 100th one-day appearance for England on Sunday - and coach Duncan Fletcher does not expect his captain to send down a full allocation of overs in any game at the ICC Champions Trophy.

The 28-year-old’s return to international cricket against hosts India ends a six-month absence from the limited-overs team and sees him become the 12th man to reach three figures for England.

He will be presented with a silver salver to commemorate the achievement before play at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, the venue where England take on Australia in a pre-Ashes clash on Saturday.

Despite increasing his bowling workload in the nets, it is unlikely he will operate in an all-rounder capacity in that match either.

“We are not pushing it,” said Fletcher.

“I don’t think he will bowl but that is not a hard-and-fast rule. He might bowl at the back end (of the tournament) but, if he does, it won’t be 10 overs.

“He might want to get through four or five overs but that’s up to the medical staff.

“As far as I am concerned, Flintoff must be ready to bowl in Brisbane when the Ashes starts and whatever is required to bat and bowl in that first Test, we will do.”

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move