Sri Lanka up first for England

Paul Collingwood

Paul Collingwood is set to lead England against Sri Lanka on September 14 © Getty Images

England begin their ICC Champions Trophy campaign with a match against Sri Lanka in Karachi on September 14.

Peter Moores’ side will then travel to Rawalpindi for their second group game against New Zealand on September 19.

South Africa are the opposition for England’s final group game, again in Rawalpindi, on September 21.

Hosts Pakistan begin the tournament with a game against West Indies in Lahore on September 11 and holders Australia start their defence of the title against India in Lahore on September 13.

The top two from each group qualify for the semi-finals on September 24 and 25 while the final takes place on September 28 in Lahore.

But before the tournament goes ahead there will be a full independent security assessment in Pakistan in June following the decision by Australia to postpone their tour due to safety fears.

ICC Champions Trophy schedule:

Sept 11 – Pakistan v West Indies, Lahore
Sept 12 – New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Karachi
Sept 13 – Australia v India, Lahore
Sept 14 – England v Sri Lanka, Karachi
Sept 15 – South Africa v New Zealand, Rawalpindi
Sept 16 – West Indies v India, Karachi
Sept 17 – Pakistan v Australia, Rawalpindi
Sept 18 – South Africa v Sri Lanka, Lahore
Sept 19 – England v New Zealand, Rawalpindi
Sept 20 – Pakistan v India, Lahore
Sept 21 – Australia v West Indies, Karachi; England v South Africa, Rawalpindi
Sept 24 – 1st semi-final, Karachi
Sept 25 – 2nd semi-final, Rawalpindi
Sept 28 – final, Lahore

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move