Best makes Windies World Cup squad

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Tino Best

Tino Best was "elated" after being named in West Indies' 30-strong provisional 2011 World Cup squad

Tino Best, who has played a solitary one-day international in the last four years, has been included in West Indies’ provisional 30-man World Cup squad.

The 29-year-old pace bowler returned to the international scene last year after a boycott by the first-team squad, his only appearance in one-day colours since May 2006.

"I am elated to be in the 30,” said Best, who enjoyed a spell at Yorkshire this summer. “My bowling has improved tremendously this year and I am happy the selectors still have me in their thoughts.

“It would mean everything to me to be selected to play for the West Indies in the World Cup and get back on the international scene."

Batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan and wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin also feature after injuries ruled them out of the recent tour of Sri Lanka.

However, pace bowlers Fidel Edwards and Jerome Taylor remain sidelined, prompting a call-up for Best’s 19-year-old Barbados team-mate Jason Holder, who has played just two first-class matches.

Leg-spinners Devendra Bishoo and Anthony Martin have been called up to add further slow bowling options amid uncertainty over Shane Shillingford’s availability.

The off-spinner was suspended by the International Cricket Council yesterday after his bowling action was found to be illegal.

The provisional squad must be trimmed next month to 15 players for the six-week tournament, which will be played in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh from February 19.

West Indies World Cup squad: Lionel Baker, Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh Jr, Sulieman Benn, Dave Bernard Jr, Tino Best, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Ryan Hinds, Jason Holder, Anthony Martin, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge, Devon Thomas.