Bresnan reprimanded by ICC
Tim Bresnan has been reprimanded by the International Cricket Council for hitting his broken stumps in yesterday's tie with India.
The bowling all-rounder, who had earlier returned one-day international-best figures of 5-48, swung his bat at his stumps after being bowled by Piyush Chawla from the last ball of the 49th over.
Bresnan pleaded guilty to a Level One offence (section 2.1.2) of the ICC Code of Conduct for players and team officials, which relates to "abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings".
All Level One breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and/or a maximum penalty of the imposition of a fine up to 50% of a player's match fee.
Roshan Mahanama of the Emirates elite panel of ICC match referees said: "While giving my verdict, I took into account that Bresnan admitted his mistake, apologised for his action and that it was his first offence.
"Further, it was encouraging to note that Bresnan on his own initiative met the umpires concerned and reiterated that his action was unintentional."
Meanwhile, England have been fined for a slow over-rate in the game, with captain Andrew Strauss docked 20% of his match fee and the rest of the side 10%.