Guide to the Grounds - Bangladesh

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Shere Bangla National Stadium

Location: Mirpur, Dhaka
Capacity: 25,000
Opened: 2006

Shere Bangla National Stadium

First ODI: Bangladesh v Zimbabwe, Dec 8 2006
Highest Total: India 330-8 v Pakistan, 2008

The largest of the two Bangladeshi venues used during the tournament is located in Mirpur, near Dhaka, and will stage the World Cup opener between co-hosts Bangladesh and India.

Match Schedule

Feb 19: India v Bangladesh, Group B
Feb 25: Bangladesh v Ireland, Group B
March 4: Bangladesh v West Indies, Group B
March 19: Bangladesh v South Africa, Group B
March 25: Third quarter-final

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Location: Chittagong
Capacity: 18,000
Established: 2006

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

First ODI: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka, Feb 25 2006
Highest Total: Sri Lanka 309-7 v Bangladesh, 2006

Built for the Under-19 World Cup in 2004 and granted international status two years later, this ground has the smallest capacity of all the stadiums in the tournament. It will host two group games.

Match Schedule

March 11: Bangladesh v England, Group B
March 14: Bangladesh v Netherlands, Group B

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move