RSS feeds from

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 news RSS

Joyce in Ireland World Cup party

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Ed Joyce

Ed Joyce has, as expected, been named in Ireland's preliminary World Cup squad after switching his allegiance back from England

Ireland have named a 22-man preliminary squad ahead of the World Cup, including Ed Joyce who was last month granted special dispensation to play in the competition by the International Cricket Council.

Joyce switched his allegiance to England in 2005, but announced in May his intention to resume playing for the country of his birth. The ICC declined a similar request from former New Zealand middle-order batsman Hamish Marshall.

Eight of those named today played for Ireland in the 2007 World Cup when they reached the Super Eights.

New Warwickshire signing Will Porterfield retains the captaincy from Ireland’s last one-day series in September.

Coach Phil Simmons, who must reduce the party to 15 by January 19, said: “There are no surprises in the 22 as we’ve had a fairly settled squad this past year.

“Our training camp in India last month went well and it was fantastic preparation for the conditions which we’ll be facing when the tournament starts.

“There’s a lot of experience in the squad, but that’s balanced by the fact we’ve got a few exciting youngsters as well.

“Both Paul Stirling and George Dockrell have turned in some great performances in 2010, and the World Cup will be a great stage for them.”

On the progress of Regan West and Boyd Rankin, who are recovering from shoulder and foot injuries respectively, Simmons said: “Boyd is bowling again and on track to be fully fit for the tournament.

“Regan is working hard after his shoulder operations and will undergo a final fitness assessment before the final squad is announced; we’re still hopeful that he’ll make it.”

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain), Andre Botha, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Phil Eaglestone, Allan Eastwood, James Hall, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, Rory McCann, John Mooney, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Albert van der Merwe, Regan West, Gary Wilson, Andrew White, Craig Young.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move