ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Ricky Ponting

The feeling may be that Australia’s once impregnable aura has faded in recent years, but they remain the best one-day side in the world, according to the International Cricket Council rankings. Their World Cup pedigree is beyond doubt: six-time finalists, champions on four occasions and winners of the last three tournaments. Although they head into the 2011 edition fresh from administering a 6-1 defeat on England in the Commonwealth Bank Series Down Under, it remains to be seen how well they cope with conditions on the sub-continent, especially given the absence through injury of Mike Hussey, their middle-order lynchpin, and first-choice spinner Nathan Hauritz.

Squad: Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin (wicketkeeper), John Hastings, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Tim Paine (wicketkeeper), Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Captain: Ricky Ponting
Coach: Tim Nielsen

Key Man: Ricky Ponting
Woefully out of form this winter, Ponting is preparing for his fifth World Cup with added concerns over the state of his recently broken finger. However, he remains a man for the big occasion, and his importance to the Australia cause - not only in terms of top-order runs but also his imposing presence - cannot be overstated.

World Cup Record
1975: Runners-up
1979: 1st round
1983: 1st round
1987: Winners
1992: 1st round
1996: Runners-up
1999: Winners
2003: Winners
2007: Winners

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move