Sri Lanka

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Lasith Malinga

Sri Lanka emerged victorious the last time the World Cup was held on the sub-continent and can be counted among the leading contenders once again. Beaten finalists at the hands of Australia in 2007, they boast an array of players with match-winning potential, including master spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, who will retire from international cricket at the end of the tournament. Lasith Malinga and Ajantha Mendis are among Sri Lanka’s other chief threats with the ball, while the likes of Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene will be expected to score heavily.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dilhara Fernando, Rangana Herath, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thisara Perera, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Upul Tharanga.

Captain: Kumar Sangakkara
Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Key Man: Lasith Malinga
While much of the attention will be on Muralitharan in his farwell tournament, Malinga could prove to be more central to Sri Lanka’s hopes of success. The seamer’s unorthodox action may no longer surprise opposing teams, but it remains devastatingly effective and his ability to bowl yorkers in the closing overs is almost unrivalled in the modern game.

World Cup Record
1975: 1st round
1979: 1st round
1983: 1st round
1987: 1st round
1992: 1st round
1996: Winners
1999: 1st round
2003: Semi-final
2007: Runners-up

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move