ICC World Twenty20 England 2009

ICC World Twenty20 2009

ICC World Twenty20 England 2009 took place from June 5 through to a Finals Day at Lord's on June 21 - with the very best players in the world representing their countries, showcasing Twenty20 cricket on a global stage.

England Women were victorious in their final against New Zealand by six wickets; their success was followed by Pakistan in the men's final, as they overcame Sri Lanka by eight wickets.

Look back on all the news, features, interviews, player video and information for ICC World Twenty20 2009 here on ecb.co.uk - including full scorecards from every match

The 2009 event was the second ICC World Twenty20 - the inaugural event took place in South Africa in 2007 - with India defeating Pakistan in the final.

Excitingly, the 2009 World T20 event saw the men’s and women’s tournament integrated for the first time.

The men’s tournament format consisted of 12 teams, played across three venues – Lord’s, Trent Bridge and The Oval. The women’s tournament consisted of eight teams - with the group stage games hosted at Taunton.

The semi-final days hosted at Trent Bridge and The Oval and the finals day hosted at Lord’s saw the two tournaments come together with the men’s games following the women’s game on each match-day.

Icc World T20 Corporate Partners