England name World Twenty20 squad

ICC World Twenty20 2009

England national selector Geoff Miller announces the chosen 30 at Lord's today

The England selectors today announced England's provisional 30-man squad for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 to be staged in England in June.

The squad, which will be halved to 15 players on May 1, does not include the current England Test and one-day international captain Andrew Strauss.

The selectors will name the England Twenty20 captain once a comprehensive review of the recently concluded West Indies tour has taken in place, in conjunction with the incoming England team director.

The 30-man squad contains five players yet to be capped at international level including Joe Denly (Kent), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Graham Napier (Essex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire) and Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

England national selector Geoff Miller said: "Andrew Strauss had an outstanding tour of the West Indies during a difficult winter.

“Andrew and the selectors believe his game is better suited to Test and ODI cricket and it is for that reason he has not been selected in the preliminary 30-man squad for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20.

“Andrew is focused on the Test and ODI format of the game despite not being included in the 30-man Twenty20 squad.

“The selectors have decided against naming a captain for the ICC World Twenty20 at this stage because we feel it is important to comprehensively review the recent tour of the Caribbean and seek input from all relevant parties including the incoming England team director who is yet to be appointed.

“Once these processes have been achieved the selectors will name England's Twenty20 captain in due course.

“We have a wealth of talented players in the 30-man squad who have proved themselves adept at limited overs cricket so there are several options for the selectors to consider before reducing the squad to 15 players at the start of next month.

“We have an encouraging blend of experience and youth in this preliminary squad including a number of uncapped players who will be eager to make their international debut at home during what promises to be an fantastic tournament in June."

England women's captain Charlotte Edwards said that her World Cup-winning squad is looking forward to the challenge of the inaugural women's World Twenty20, on home soil.

Charlotte Edwards

Women's captain Charlotte Edwards said: "We are fully focussed on winning the ICC World Twenty20"

She said: “We have enjoyed all the accolades after winning the World Cup and it has been an exciting time for us all but now we are fully focussed on winning the ICC World Twenty20.

“This tournament offers the greatest chance ever to promote women's cricket with the women's semi finals and final on the same day, same ticket and in front of the same crowd as the men's matches.”

England 30-man ICC World Twenty20 squad:

Kabir Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Gareth Batty (Worcestershire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Paul Collingwood (Durham)
Steve Davies (Worcestershire)
Joe Denly (Kent)
James Foster (Essex)
Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
Steve Harmison (Durham)
Robert Key (Kent)
Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire)
Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Graham Napier (Essex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
Liam Plunkett (Durham)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Owais Shah (Middlesex)
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Tremlett (Hampshire)
Shaun Udal (Middlesex)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Luke Wright (Sussex)

England 18-strong women's squad:

Caroline Atkins (Sussex)
Rosalie Birch (Sussex)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Holly Colvin (Sussex)
Charlotte Edwards (Kent, captain)
Georgia Elwiss (Staffordshire)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Lauren Griffiths (Cheshire)
Isa Guha (Berkshire)
Jenny Gunn (Middlesex)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Laura Marsh (Sussex)
Beth Morgan (Middlesex)
Ebony Rainford-Brent (Surrey)
Nicola Shaw (Surrey)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Claire Taylor (Berkshire)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move