England dominate select XI

ICC World Twenty20 2009

Claire Taylor

Clare Taylor's 199 runs for England made her the player of the tournament and she also features in the team of the tournament

Five of England’s triumphant team have been named in the official ICC Women’s World Twenty20 team of the tournament.

England coasted to a six-wicket victory over New Zealand at Lord’s on Sunday to continue their domination of the women’s game and successful skipper Charlotte Edwards has been named as captain of the side.

Wisden cricketer of the year Claire Taylor, who was named as player of the tournament, earned her place after scoring 199 runs in just five innings and wicketkeeper-batter Sarah Taylor, who had an impressive time with both bat and gloves, was also named.

Spinning duo Laura Marsh and Holly Colvin complete England’s presence, Marsh earning her place with six wickets at an economy rate of 3.4, whilst Colvin’s 11 dismissals made her the leading wicket-taker in the tournament.

The side was selected by a host of top names in the game including ICC match referee Chris Broad, former England captain Clare Connor and tournament director Steve Elworthy.

Full XI: Shelley Nitschke (Australia), Charlotte Edwards (England, captain), Claire Taylor (England), Aimee Watkins (New Zealand), Sarah Taylor (England, wicketkeeper), Suzi Bates (New Zealand), Lucy Doolan (New Zealand, Rumeli Dhar (India), Laura Marsh (England), Holly Colvin (England), Sian Ruck (New Zealand), 12th player: Eshani Kaushalya (Sri Lanka).

Winners Pakistan have four players named in the men’s team of the tournament.

Retiring Twenty20 captain Younus Khan, all-rounder Shahid Afridi, wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal and fast bowler Umar Gul have all been included along with a mix of players from runners-up Sri Lanka and the two losing semi-finalists South Africa and West Indies.

Men’s full XI: Chris Gayle (West Indies), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Younus Khan (Pakistan, captain), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Kamran Akmal (Pakistan, wicketkeeper), Wayne Parnell (South Africa), Umar Gul (Pakistan), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), 12th man: Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move