ICC World Twenty20 2010 - England's passage to glory

ICC World Twenty20 West Indies 2010

England claimed a historic first global ICC tournament trophy with a seven-wicket victory over Australia in the final of the World Twenty20 in Barbados.

After failing in their previous four finals, ecb.co.uk takes a match-by-match look at a tournament to savour for England fans.

Group D

England v West Indies, Guyana

Paul Collingwood

West Indies won by eight wickets (Duckworth-Lewis method)

England suffered a controversial defeat after the Guyana rain conspired against them. England produced one of their finest one-day displays with the bat to post 191 for five, which featured Eoin Morgan's 55 off 35 balls and 45 not out off 27 from Luke Wright. A rain-affected chase left West Indies needing 30 from 22 balls and England skipper Paul Collingwood calling for a review of the Duckworth-Lewis system.

England v Ireland, Guyana

Trent Johnston, Niall O'Brien & Craig Kieswetter

No result

Rain once again played a crucial part, although this time England were the beneficiaries as a no-result meant they progressed through to the Super Eights at the expense of Ireland by virtue of a superior net run-rate. Eoin Morgan's resourceful 45 helped England recover from 49 for four to make a far from daunting 120 for eight against the minnows, who were 14 for one when rain intervened after only 3.3 overs of their reply.

Super Eights

England v Pakistan, Barbados

Kevin Pietersen, Kamran Akmal and Shahid Afridi

England won by six wickets

England overcame the defending champions to claim their first victory of the competition. Pakistan were resticted to 147 for nine after being asked to bat as Ryan Sidebottom, Stuart Broad and Michael Yardy claimed two wickets apiece. The latter conceded just 19 runs off four overs. The outcome was rarely in doubt as a rapid opening stand between Michael Lumb and Craig Kieswetter paved the way for Kevin Pietersen to smash an unbeaten 73 off 52 balls. Victory was secured with five balls to spare.

England v South Africa, Barbados

Michael Yardy and Graeme Swann

England won by 39 runs

Kevin Pietersen hit his second half-century in as many games to carry England to the brink of the semi-finals with a comprehensive victory over South Africa. Pietersen launched a ferocious assault on South Africa's much-vaunted pace attack, hitting 55 off just 33 deliveries in a total of 168 for seven that also featured 41 from Craig Kieswetter. South Africa never recovered from slipping to 55 for five, and crumbled to 129 all out with an over unused as Ryan Sidebottom and Michael Yardy claimed 3-23 and 3-24 respectively.

England v New Zealand, St Lucia

Luke Wright & Eoin Morgan

England won by three wickets
Results elsewhere meant England had already booked their place in the semi-final before this contest, but their 100% Super Eight record was sealed with another successful run-chase. With Kevin Pietersen back in London to attend the birth of his first child, England survived losing three quick wickets in the middle of their chase to overhaul the Black Caps’ 149 for six with five balls to spare. Michael Lumb hit a rapid 32 at the top of the order and Eoin Morgan a more measured 40 before man of the match Tim Bresnan added to his 1-20 return by smashing 23 not out off 11 balls.


England v Sri Lanka, St Lucia

Kevin Pietersen & Kumar Sangakkara

England won by seven wickets

England produced their most dominant performance thus far to dump Sri Lanka, last year's beaten finalists, out of the competition. Another resounding win was built around a lethal display with the ball that saw Sri Lanka reduced to 47 for four. Angelo Mathews' mature 58 helped them to a more respectable 128 for six - Stuart Broad finished with 2-21 - but that total barely inconvenienced an England side brimming with confidence. Craig Kieswetter and Michael Lumb put on 68 for the first wicket, before Pietersen - back in the Caribbean as a father - wrapped up victory with 42 not out off 26 balls. There were four overs unused.


England v Australia, Barbados

Paul Collingwood

England won by seven wickets

England carried their sensational form into the final, which was shaped by a pulsating opening few overs. Ryan Sidebottom struck twice and Michael Lumb ran out David Warner as Australia slipped to eight for three after 13 balls on a pacy pitch. Cameron White, with a rapid 31, sparked a recovery that was built upon by David Hussey, who made 59 in a total of 147 for six. Graeme Swann conceded just 17 in four overs of exemplary off-spin, while Sidebottom claimed 2-26. The early loss of Michael Lumb did not inconvenience England, who swept to victory with three overs to spare thanks to Craig Kieswetter's savage 63 and a no less incendiary 43 from Kevin Pietersen. Both perished with the finishing line in sight, but Paul Collingwood hit the winning runs with three overs to spare.

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move