RSS feeds from

ICC World Twenty20 2012 news RSS

Veteran Hogg makes Australia cut

Icc World Twenty20

Keep up to date with all that's new around the world - read match reports and more from every international played

Brad Hogg is set to become the oldest cricketer to play for Australia at a World Cup after being named in his country’s finalised 15-man squad for the World Twenty20 tournament in Sri Lanka.

Hogg is one of five spinners - along with Xavier Doherty and all-rounders Cameron White, Glenn Maxwell and David Hussey - included in a predictable list of names, identical to those scheduled to play against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates at the beginning of September.

Pat Cummins, who returned from Australia’s recent tour of England with a side strain, has been deemed fit enough to participate.

Brad Hogg

Spinner Brad Hogg is set to represent Australia at the World Twenty 20 in Sri Lanka, despite being in his 42nd year

“A real strength of the squad is its flexibility and versatility,” said national selector John Inverarity.

“It’s a well-balanced side that will provide the captain, George Bailey, with plenty of options in both the batting line-up and bowling possibilities.

“Our squad will be well prepared and we look forward to them playing some outstanding cricket and acquitting themselves especially well.”

Cricket Australia also announced the squad that will look to defend the Women’s World Twenty20 title.

Chair of selectors Julie Savage said: “There is one change to the squad that travelled to India in March, with South Australian all-rounder Lauren Ebsary coming into the squad at the expense of pace bowler Sharon Millanta."

Australia men’s World Twenty20 squad: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson, Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Cameron White.

Australia women’s World Twenty20 squad: Jodie Fields (captain), Alex Blackwell, Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Lauren Ebsary, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Lisa Sthalekar.

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move