RSS feeds from

ICC World Twenty20 2012 news RSS

2012 World T20 schedule unveiled

Icc World Twenty20


England, who won the World Twenty20 in such memorable fashion in the Caribbean last year, have been drawn against India and a qualifying nation in the first group stage of next year's tournament in Sri Lanka

England will begin the defence of their World Twenty20 title in Sri Lanka next year against a qualifying nation.

Paul Collingwood led England to their first global trophy last year when they beat Australia in a one-sided final in Barbados.

Now under the leadership of Stuart Broad, England will meet one of two Associate or Affiliate sides to progress from the qualifying tournament in their opening match in Colombo on September 21.

India, the third team in Group A, will provide the opposition at the same venue two days later, with the top two from each group going through to the Super Eight stage.

Australia have been drawn alongside West Indies and a qualifying nation in Group B. Group C consists of Sri Lanka, South Africa and Zimbabwe, while Pakistan, New Zealand and Bangladesh make up Group D.

The hosts will get the competition under way on September 18, with the final to be held at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on October 7. In total 27 games will be played in a little under three weeks.

The women’s tournament will be held at the same time and the semi-finals and final will be staged before the equivalent men’s matches on the same ground.

England women have been drawn alongside India, Australia and a qualifier, against whom they will begin their campaign on September 27.

“The ICC World Twenty20 is now a marquee event in Twenty20 cricket where nations challenge each other for the most coveted title in the shortest format of the game," said ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

“The previous editions in South Africa, England and the West Indies have smartly established the ICC World Twenty20 as a major global event that is not only exciting and entertaining but embraces both men’s and women’s cricket.

“We all know how passionate and loyal the Sri Lankan public is towards our great sport and we will ensure the tickets are affordable so that they can enjoy the event.

“Following the legacies and success of the recent ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, I am confident that the hosts, Sri Lanka, will deliver a world-class event.”

The qualifying tournament, which features 16 teams, will be held in the UAE from March 13-24 next year.

World Twenty20 2012


Group A: England, India, Qualifier 2
Group B: Australia, West Indies, Qualifier 1
Group C: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe
Group D: Pakistan, New Zealand, Bangladesh

Super Eight Groups (S8)

Group 1: A1, B2, C1, D2
Group 2: A2, B1, C2, D1


Group Stage

Sept 18
Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Hambantota (1930 local time)
Sept 19
Australia v Q1, Colombo (1530)
India v Q2, Colombo (1930)
Sept 20
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Hambantota (1930)
Sept 21
New Zealand v Bangladesh, Pallekele (1530)
England v Q2, Colombo (1930)
Sept 22
Sri Lanka v South Africa, Hambantota (1530)
Australia v West Indies, Colombo (1930)
Sept 23
Pakistan v New Zealand, Pallekele (1530)
England v India, Colombo (1930)
Sept 24
West Indies v Qualifier 1, Colombo (1930)
Sept 25
Pakistan v Bangladesh, Pallekele (1930)

Super Eights

Sept 27
C1 v D2, Pallekele (1530)
A1 v B2, Pallekele (1930)

Sept 28
D1 v C2, Colombo (1530)
B1 v A2, Colombo (1930)

Sept 29
A1 v D2, Pallekele (1530)
C1 v B2 (1930-2230), Pallekele

Sept 30
B1 v C2, Colombo (1530)
D1 v A2, Colombo (1930)

Oct 1
B2 v D2, Pallekele (1530)
A1 v C1, Pallekele (1930)

Oct 2
B1 v D1, Colombo (1530)
A2 v C2, Colombo (1930)

Oct 4
Women’s semi-final: A1 v B2, Colombo (1430)
Men’s semi-final: Group 1 winner v Group 2 runners-up, Colombo (1900)

Oct 5
Women’s semi-final: A2 v B1, Colombo (1430)
Men’s semi-final: Group 2 winner v Group 2 runners-up, Colombo (1900)

Oct 7
Women’s final, Colombo (1430)
Men’s final, Colombo (1900)

Women’s Groups

Group A: Australia, India, England, Qualifier 1
Group B: New Zealand, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 2


Sept 26
Sri Lanka v Q2, Galle (0930)
New Zealand v West Indies, Galle (1330)
Sept 27
England v Q1, Galle (0930)
Australia v India, Galle (1330)
Sept 28
New Zealand v Qualifier 2, Galle (0930)
Sri Lanka v West Indies, Galle (1330)
Sept 29
Australia v Q1, Galle (0930)
India v England, Galle (1330)
Sept 30
West Indies v Q2, Galle (0930)
Sri Lanka v New Zealand, Galle (1330)
Oct 1
India v Qualifier 1, Galle (0930)
Australia v England, Galle (1330)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move