RSS feeds from

ICC World Twenty20 2012 news RSS

Mooney ruled out of World Twenty20

ICC Pepsi Development Programme

Keep up to date with all that's new around the world - read match reports and more from every international played

All-rounder John Mooney has been left out of Ireland’s squad for the World Twenty20 due to a fractured finger.

Mooney is the only major omission from an experienced 15-man squad, that includes soon-to-be retired Boyd Rankin, after it was confirmed the 30-year-old would miss up to three months.

“It's disappointing for both John (Mooney) and the team,” coach Phil Simmons said.

“He's suffered two finger injuries and this latest one won't heal in time for the start of the tournament. He's been a major part of the team for the last three or four years and it's disappointing we have to go without him.

John Mooney

John Mooney will miss out on the World Twenty20 after fracturing a finger. "It's disappointing we have to go without him," said Phil Simmons

“This will give others an opportunity to push for his place and stake a claim. We have guys who can come in and fill the spot and if selected can hopefully fill the role of John Mooney.”

Fast bowler Rankin has been selected despite revealing he would retire from Irish duty after the tournament to focus on his England ambitions.

Rankin, who has recently returned from a foot injury with Warwickshire, is an experienced campaigner in a party that contains six players to have played in all of Ireland’s four major competition appearances.

"That for me is the good thing. Everybody has been there before and knows what's expected of them,” former West Indies all-rounder Simmons added.

“It's good for the younger players who will learn how we do things and how we proceed at tournaments.”

Will Porterfield - a county team-mate of Rankin at Edgbaston - will once again captain the squad, while Middlesex seamer Tim Murtagh and uncapped all-rounder Stuart Thompson are also included.

Ireland will open their Group B campaign against West Indies in Colombo on September 19 before meeting Australia - who reached the final two years ago - in their second and final group game five days later.

Ireland squad: Will Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Max Sorensen, Stuart Thompson, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.