RSS feeds from

England Development Programme news RSS

ECB announces spin camps

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
David Parsons

David Parsons © Getty Images

The ECB has revealed it will hold two specialist spin bowling events later this month and in early August.

The best young slow bowlers in the country will converge on the National Cricket Centre in Loughborough for the two-day camps, which will take place on July 30-31 and August 1-2.

Details were confirmed after the success of the spin event in June, when the finest young spinners in or around the first-class game were put through their paces over three days at Loughborough.

The younger group of players at the newly-announced event, selected from within the regional programme and regional skills set programme, will receive expert advice from the likes of Terry Jenner, Shane Warne’s mentor. He is set to lead the second camp, which will be focused on wrist spin.

ECB spin bowling coach David Parsons said: “The programme will enable us to compare the relative playing capabilities of a pool of emerging young cricketers, profile the players in order to inform our development programmes and offer coaching support regarding the bowling of spin and the playing of spin bowling.

“The players themselves will develop an enhanced understanding of some of the tactical and technical issues to be considered in bowling and batting or keeping against spin.”

Invited Players, July 30-31

Jack Taylor (County - Oxfordshire; Region - Midlands)
Tim Ravenscroft (Hampshire; West)
Imran Hassan (Wales; West
Lewis Gregory (Devon/Somerset; West)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire; West)
Adam Miles (Wiltshire; West)
Jack Leach (Somerset; West)
Jacob Lintott (Somerset; West)
Dominic Hurst (Essex; South)
James Goodman (Kent; South)
Christopher Stephens (Essex; South)
Joshua Howe (Surrey; South)
Ravi Patel (Middlesex; South)
Robert Craze (Cambs; South)
Zafar Ansari (Surrey; South)
Muhunthan Harinath (Surrey; South)
Kabir Toor (Middlesex; South)
Ben Stokes (Cumbria/Durham; North)
Mohammed Abid (Lancashire; North)
Scott Borthwick (Durham; North)
Chris Allinson (Yorkshire; North)
Mattie Mckiernan (Lancashire; North)
Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire; North)
Awan Ali (Warwickshire; Midlands)
Jonathon Webb (Warwickshire; Midlands)
Thomas Lewis (Warwickshire; Midlands)
James Taylor (Worcestershire; Midlands)
Joshua Cobb (Leicestershire; Midlands)
Akhil Patel (Derbyshire; Midlands)

Invited Players - Wrist Spin, August 1-2

Jack Taylor (Oxfordshire; Midlands)
Shaun Dixon (Wiltshire; West)
Jacob Lintott (Somerset; West)
Todd Barrett (Somerset; West)
William Ford (Wales; West)
Tom Seckington (Northamptonshire; Midlands)
Luke Jones (Wales; West)
Elliot Green (Worcestershire; Midlands)
Luke Samarasinghe (South)
Robert Goatham (Kent; South)
Charley Nash (Kent; South)
Samuel Woods (Surrey; South)
Jonathan Miles (Cumbria; North)
Michael Dicks (Durham; North)
Joshua Cobb (Leicestershire; Midlands)
Jordan Capel (Northamptonshire; Midlands)
Brett D'Oliveria (Worcestershire; Midlands)

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move